Library Guide: Medicine: Library Collection

Useful links for Academic Writing

Academic writing
Academic writing by University of Reading

Academic Phrasebank by The University of Manchester
The Academic Phrasebank is a general resource for academic writers.
English for Academic Purposes: Grammar
Detailed explanation of how English grammar works with lots of exercises to put your knowledge into practice.
English grammar by University of Hull
Course on aspects of English grammar which are often a problem for students
Learn English (British Council)
Learn English online using our high-quality resources to quickly improve your English. This website is created for adult learners of English by the British Council, the world's English teaching experts.

Research Tools

Citation Machine — Write Smarter, Cite Accurately
Smart technology to create citations, provide grammar suggestions, and detect unintentional plagiarism.
Turnitin
Turnitin solutions promote academic integrity, streamline grading and feedback, deter plagiarism, and improve student outcomes.
Grammarly: Free Writing Assistant
Compose bold, clear, mistake-free writing with Grammarly’s AI-powered writing assistant.

Suggestions for the Collection

Got a suggestion of a resource that you think will enhance our collections? Email us at: Ranita@um.edu.my

Purchases of requested material are based on the availability of funds, and on the teaching, learning and research requirements of the University.
Please check the requests against the Pendeta Discovery.
Respond promptly when the library needs additional information from you pertaining to your request.

Reference for Quantitative Analysis

Educational Research by John W. Creswell
Call Number: LB1028 Cre 2019
ISBN: 9780134519364
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
A practical, step-by-step core research text that balances coverage of qualitative, quantitative and combined methods Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research offers a truly balanced, inclusive, and integrated overview of the processes involved in educational research. This text first examines the general steps in the research process and then details the procedures for conducting specific types of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods studies. Direct guidance on reading research is offered throughout the text, and features provide opportunities for practice. Examples are now drawn from a broad range of fields, including program evaluation, multicultural research, counseling, school psychology, and learning and cognition. In addition, enhanced coverage incorporates the latest technology-based strategies and online tools, and more information about single-subject research methods.
Educational Research : Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research by John W. Creswell
Call Number: LB1028 Cre
ISBN: 9780132073080
Publication Date: 2008
Subject Term: Education -- Research -- Methodology.
An Introduction to Data Analysis by Tiffany Bergin
Call Number: WA950 Ber 2018
ISBN: 9781446295144
Publication Date: 2018-11-28
Covering the general process of data analysis to finding, collecting, organizing, and presenting data, this book offers a complete introduction to the fundamentals of data analysis. Using real-world case studies as illustrations, it helps readers understand theories behind and develop techniques for conducting quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods data analysis. With an easy-to-follow organization and clear, jargon-free language, it helps readers not only become proficient data analysts, but also develop the critical thinking skills necessary to assess analyses presented by others in both academic research and the popular media.
Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approach by John W. Creswell, J. David Creswell.
Call Number: H62 Cre
ISBN: 9781506386768
Publication Date: 2018
Subject Term: Social sciences -- Research -- Methodology.
Social sciences -- Statistical methods.
Research Design -- standards.
Qualitative Research.

Reference for Qualitative Analysis

How to Write Qualitative Research by Marcus B. Weaver-Hightower
Call Number: H62 Wea
ISBN: 9781138066304
Publication Date: 2018-10-12
Qualitative research has exploded in popularity in nearly every discipline from the social sciences to health fields to business. While many qualitative textbooks explain how to conduct an interview or analyze fieldnotes, rarely do they give more than a few scant pages to the skill many find most difficult: writing. That¿s where How to Write Qualitative Research comes in. Using clear prose, helpful examples, and lists, it breaks down and explains the most common writing tasks in qualitative research, and each chapter suggests step-by-step how-to approaches writers can use to tackle those tasks. Topics include: writing about and with qualitative data composing findings organizing chapters and sections using grammar for powerful writing revising for clarity writing conclusions, methods sections, and theory creating and writing about visuals writing different types of qualitative research and different document types Each chapter features real-world examples from both professionals and students, hands-on practice activities, and template sentences that show qualitative writers how to get started. This text provides the perfect companion for writers of almost any skill level, from undergraduates to professionals. Whether you are writing a course paper, a dissertation, or your next book, How to Write Qualitative Research will help you write clearer, more effective qualitative research.
Design Principles for Teaching Effective Writing by Raquel Fidalgo Redondo (Editor); Karen Harris (Editor); Martine Braaksma (Editor)
Call Number: PE1404 DES
ISBN: 9789004270473
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
This volume presents effective instructional programs focused on two perspectives on writing: the teaching and learning of writing as a skill and the use of writing as a learning activity in various school subjects or skills acquisition. It is focused on analysing micro-design features of the programs (such as learning activities, supporting materials, specific strategies, instructional techniques) but also, macro-design rules of intervention programs (such as, instructional sequence, instructional stages) based on research evidence provided for previous studies. This volume goes beyond a practical volume because it provides additional reflection and discussion about theoretical background and empirically based evidence which support the specific intervention programs described. Several chapters in this book include links to an Open Access e-book where teacher and student materials for the authors' instructional approaches can be found (see ToC).
Qualitative and Mixed Methods in Public Health by Deborah K. Padgett
ISBN: 9781412990332
Publication Date: 2011-09-02
Public health research methods for the 21st centuryDesigned to meet the needs of public health students, practitioners, and researchers, this exciting and contemporary new text from the author of Qualitative Methods in Social Work Research, Second Edition offers a firm grounding in qualitative and mixed methods, including their social science roots and public health applications. It uniquely addresses two profound changes taking place in public health in the 21st century: the explosion of interest in global public health, and the growing reliance on community-engaged research methods. The author brings public health to life through the use of real-world case studies drawn from the author's funded research projects in breast cancer screening as well as homelessness and mental illness.

Turnitin

Creating Turnitin Account

1. Creating an account using the Library Class ID and password will give you access to the currently active Library Turnitin Class.
2. Library Turnitin Classes (Indicated by Instructor: UM Library) are opt-out accounts, which means that our accounts does not save or archive your documents but only provide you with the reports.
3. Accounts created by your lecturers, supervisors or IPS could archive your submissions depending on the setting done by them.

Class ID and Class Enrollment Key

You can acquire the Class ID and the Class Enrollment Key for the Library Class from:
The Reference Desk personally at the Central Library’s Entrance or call us at 03-7956 7800.

*Note: You are required to register using your siswamailaddress (or ummailaddress for UM staff) as per the email released by PTM dated 12 April 2017 as other addresses will be deleted during housekeeping.

Turnitin Support Group

Have a Question? Find the answer in Turnitin guides and documentation. Click : Yes, i need help.

Endnote

Endnote Installer

For students : http://myum.um.edu.my/ (Login > Software > Download Software > Endnote)

For Staff: http://portal.um.edu.my/ (ICT Info > Download Software > Main Software > look for Endnote on the list)

Any issues regarding the downloading of the software can be forwarded to https://helpdesk.um.edu.my

e-resources on Using Endnote

Information on using EndNote, with links to resources : http://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home

New Books

Introduction to maternity and pediatric nursing by Gloria Leifer
Call Number: WY157.3 Lei 2019
ISBN: 9780323483971
Publication Date: 2019
Nutrition through the life cycle by Judith E. Brown, Janet S. Isaacs
Call Number: QU145 BRO 2020
ISBN: 9781337919333
Publication Date: 2019
Mason and Mccall Smith's Law and Medical Ethics by Laurie, G. T. (Graeme T.) author. Harmon, Shawn, author. Porter, Gerard, author.
Call Number: W32.5 GA1LAU 2019
ISBN: 9780198826217
Publication Date: 2019
Medical law and ethics by Herring, Jonathan
Call Number: W32.5 HER 2018
ISBN: 9780198810605
Publication Date: 2018
Double standards in medical research in developing countries by Macklin, Ruth.
Call Number: W20.55 H9Mac 2004
ISBN: 9780521833882
Publication Date: 2004
Finding common ground : consensus in research ethics across the social sciences by Ron Iphofen
Call Number: H62 Fin 2017
ISBN: 9781787141315
Publication Date: 2017
Human research protections : working with the IRB by Patricia H. Arford.
Call Number: W20.55 E7Pat 2015
ISBN: 9781518720734
Publication Date: 2015
Law and ethics relating to medical profession by Puteri Nemie Jahn Kassim
Call Number: W50 Putnjk 2007
ISBN: 9789678917933
Publication Date: 2007

Medicine: Library Collection