Library Guide: Medicine: How do I find articles?

Getting started with Library Accounts

To access the e-collection you will need to have the library ID. It is the x number on top of the barcode which can be found at the back of your matric card.

1. To access the portal, simply enter the library ID into the blank box located on top of the library website.

2. To renew items online, click My Account and enter the library ID and PIN.

Please call 03-79674961 if you are not sure of your PIN.

3. To request for document delivery, get in the interaktif portal using the same library ID.

Journal Citation Report for Medicine

List of journals in a certain subject category/tier for easy reference.

Databases relevant to subject

BioOne Full-Text (2005-2015) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject: Biological & Medical Sciences. Major areas of coverage include: Arachnology, Beetles, Crustaceans, Ecology, Economic botany, Entomology, Environmental science.
Coverage: Some journals are covered back to 1998, with the majority being covered from 2000.

BioOne is a unique aggregation of high-impact, bioscience research journals. As an innovative collaboration among scientific societies, libraries, academe and the commercial sector, BioOne is working to help transform the scholarly communication process by providing expanded access to scientific research results. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Thus BioOne represents a core resource for any college or university library supporting undergraduate or advanced studies in the biosciences, and for organizations engaged in research and development. Currently, there are more than 68 full-text journals in the BioOne collection; additional publishers and journals will be added over time and the database aggregation will ultimately encompass over 200 bioscience titles.
British Medical Journal This link opens in a new window
The BMJ (formerly the British Medical Journal) is an international peer reviewed medical journal. The BMJ has been published without interruption since 1840, when it began as the Provincial Medical and Surgical Journal. Our mission is to lead the debate on health and to engage, inform, and stimulate doctors, researchers, and other health professionals in ways that will improve outcomes for patients. To achieve these aims we publish original research articles, review and educational articles, news, letters, investigative journalism, and articles commenting on the clinical, scientific, social, political, and economic factors affecting health that help doctors make better clinical, research and public health decisions. The BMJ also aims to publish articles that advance debate on the science and art of patient partnership and co-production of health. We are delighted to consider articles for publication from doctors and others, and from anywhere in the world. Although the editorial office is located in London, we have editors throughout the world, including Europe, North America, South Asia, and China.
Web | Active | Full-text
Health Business Elite @EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.
Subject: Health Science
Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.
Ovid - Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available on Journals@Ovid, the LWW Journal Legacy Archive combines groundbreaking, hard-to-find research material from one of the world’s most respected nursing and medical publishers and Ovid’s innovative search and discovery technology into one easy-to-use electronic information resource.
288 titles
Our content covers a wide range of core and niche scientific, medical, and healthcare disciplines including:

Medicine
Nursing & Health Professions
Behavioral Sciences
Basic Sciences
Humanities & Technologies
Agriculture and Food Sciences
Engineering
MEDLINE Complete @EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
Subject: Medicine
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.

New England journal of Medicine

The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text @EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, 299 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Biomedical Reference Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
Subject: Sports Science, Sports Medicine
Coverage: 1985-
Web | Active | Full-text
SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, 299 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Biomedical Reference Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

Other Databases

Annual Reviews
Subject: Biomedical & Life Sciences ; Physical Sciences ; Social Sciences
CINAHL Complete @EBSCOHost
Subject: Nursing & allied health
Cochrane Library
Subject: Medicine
Embase
Subject: Biomedical
Karger eJournals
Subject: Research and clinical medicine
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Journals @Ovid
Subject: Nursing
MEDLINE Complete @EBSCOhost
Subject: Medicine
Nature Journals (2012-2015)
Subject: Chemistry; Clinical Practice & Research; Earth & Environment; Life sciences; Physical sciences
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection @EBSCOhost
Subject: Psychology
ScienceDirect
Subject: Physical Sciences and Engineering; Life Sciences; Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities
SciFinder® Scholar (Web Version)
Subject: Complete coverage of chemistry and the life sciences including biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and related disciplines
Scopus
SPORTDiscus with Full Text @EBSCOhost
Subject: Sports Science, Sports Medicine
SpringerLink
Subject: Life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics.
UpToDate
Subject: Medicine