Library Guide: Medicine: Online Resources

Subscribed Databases

BioOne Full-Text (2005-2015) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BioOne is a unique aggregation of high-impact, bioscience research journals. As an innovative collaboration among scientific societies, libraries, academe and the commercial sector, BioOne is working to help transform the scholarly communication process by providing expanded access to scientific research results. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Thus BioOne represents a core resource for any college or university library supporting undergraduate or advanced studies in the biosciences, and for organizations engaged in research and development. Currently, there are more than 68 full-text journals in the BioOne collection; additional publishers and journals will be added over time and the database aggregation will ultimately encompass over 200 bioscience titles.
Subject: Biological & Medical Sciences. Major areas of coverage include: Arachnology, Beetles, Crustaceans, Ecology, Economic botany, Entomology, Environmental science.
Coverage: Some journals are covered back to 1998, with the majority being covered from 2000.

BioOne is a unique aggregation of high-impact, bioscience research journals. As an innovative collaboration among scientific societies, libraries, academe and the commercial sector, BioOne is working to help transform the scholarly communication process by providing expanded access to scientific research results. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Thus BioOne represents a core resource for any college or university library supporting undergraduate or advanced studies in the biosciences, and for organizations engaged in research and development. Currently, there are more than 68 full-text journals in the BioOne collection; additional publishers and journals will be added over time and the database aggregation will ultimately encompass over 200 bioscience titles.

The BMJ (formerly the British Medical Journal) is an international peer reviewed medical journal and a fully online first publication. The website is updated daily with original articles, podcasts, videos, and blogs and organised into four main content streams—research, education, news and views, and campaigns. In addition, the site is fully searchable, with an archive back to 1840 and numerous topic collections on clinical and non-clinical subjects. Articles of relevance to specific countries and regions are grouped together on country portals.

CINAHL® Complete @EBSCOhost

CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

DynaMed Plus

DynaMed Plus™ is the clinical reference tool that physicians go to for answers to clinical questions. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.

Karger eJournals (up to 2014) This link opens in a new window
Consists of 80 scientific journals.
Subscription terminated in 2015.
Subject: Research and clinical medicine
Consists of 80 scientific journals.
Subscription terminated in 2015.
Scopus™ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus™ is a revolutionary new navigational product for all sciences from Elsevier. It is an abstract database covering 25 million abstracts from over 12,900 titles across 4,000 publishers, going back to 1966, with 5 years of reference back years. This means that one can obtain details whether a particular article in the database has been cited and details of the citing article. Scopus also offers powerful and innovative searching and browsing tools, with linking capability to the full-text of SUBSCRIBED titles.
Web | Active | Abstracts
Scopus™ is a revolutionary new navigational product for all sciences from Elsevier. It is an abstract database covering 25 million abstracts from over 12,900 titles across 4,000 publishers, going back to 1966, with 5 years of reference back years. This means that one can obtain details whether a particular article in the database has been cited and details of the citing article. Scopus also offers powerful and innovative searching and browsing tools, with linking capability to the full-text of SUBSCRIBED titles.

Youtube

Digital Archives and Repositories

University of Malaya Research Repository
The University of Malaya Research Repository is an Open Access digital archive containing the details of published and unpublished research work produced by the UM researchers. It has been established to provide a deposit service for the academic staff and researchers.
UM Memory
UM Memory is an initiative by the library to preserve University of Malaya valuable photos with historical context for the campus community and nation at large.
Newspaper Clipping - UM in the news
Newspaper Clipping - University of Malaya in the news - News coverage relating to University of Malaya, its staff, students and alumni that have appeared in the local, regional and national newspapers. It also provides newspaper reports and pictorial coverage of events, announcements and achievements of the University. The news are updated regularly by the library staff as featured in the public media. To make the news more accesible and organised to users, each newspaper cutting is accompanied by several subjects.
Newspaper Clipping - Malaysian Art
Newspaper Clipping - Malaysian Arts Malaysian Art, on the other hand, are news relating to events, exhibitions, artists, developments in the arts arena as reported in the local newspapers.
MyManuskrip
MyManuskrip or Digital Library of Malay Manuscript enables repositories within Malaysia and those outside to participate in building and offering manuscript content as well as outputs of manuscript research such as articles, reports, theses and links to relevant sites. As such, repositories, cultural and national heritage centers, manuscript libraries and museums are invited to share and provide access to their manuscript contents and expert knowledge concerning Malay scriptorium.
UM Refereed Academic Journal (e-Journal@UM)
e-Journal@UM developed by PTM, e-Journal system is an integrated publication management system which aims to collect information on the academic output of University of Malaya. It functions as a platform for lecturers, authors, editors and reviewers to collaborate and publish articles.
Common Repository
The Common Repository is an initiative by the library to preserve printed items digitally to increase accessibility, visibility as well as conserve old copies of items such as gazettes, magazines, journals and books.
Students' Repository
The Students' Repository provides an online archive for the written work of University of Malaya students such as academic exercises, dissertations and theses.

Online Exam Papers

UM Past Exam Papers

Postgraduate
Year 1
Year 2
Year 3
Year 4

Free e-book

Freemedworld
Welcome, we are happy to have you here, we will help you with these following materials MGE/MCI, USMLE, NEET-PG, E-books for all medical students.
Freemedworld facebook

Electronic Books

Accelerate Your Career in Nursing by Janice Mitchell Phillips; Janet Boivin
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781937554606
Publication Date: 2013
Abdominal Organ Retrieval and Transplantation Bench Surgery by John Forsythe (Editor); John Fung (Editor); Gabriel Oniscu (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780470657867
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health by Lee Baer (Editor); Mark A. Blais (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781597453875
Publication Date: 2010
Adult ADHD by J. J. Sandra Kooij
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781447141372
Publication Date: 2012

Electronic Journals

Experimental Biology and Medicine

Summary: Topics include Anatomy/Pathology; Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Cell and Developmental Biology; Endocrinology and Nutrition; Immunology/Microbiology/Virology; Neuroscience; Pharmacology and Toxicology; Physiology; Bioimaging; Biomedical Engineering; Bionanoscience; Genomics, Proteomics, and Bioinformatics; Stem Cell Biology; Systems Biology, and Translational Research.
Available on
1. SAGE Journals
  June 1903-
2. MEDLINE Complete @EBSCOhost
  Full text: Jan 2009- ; Delay 3 months

Clinical Anatomy

Summary: The goal of CLINICAL ANATOMY is to provide a medium for the exchange of current information between anatomists and clinicians. This journal embraces anatomy in all its aspects as applied to medical practice.
Available on
1. MEDLINE Complete @EBSCOhost
  Full text: Jul 2012- ; Delay 12 months
2. Wiley Online Library
  1996-

The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism

Summary: The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism is the world's leading peer reviewed journal of clinical practice and applied clinical research. Each issue provides fast and in depth coverage of diabetes, reproductive endocrinology, growth hormone therapy, thyroid disease, and other critical areas of clinical endocrinology. Regular features highlight current topics in clinical medicine, such as clinical studies, clinical case seminars, management of endocrine disorders, practice management issues, original patient oriented research studies, and other significant new endocrine studies related to human physiology and disease.
Available on
1. Journals@Ovid Full Text
  January 1999 --
2. CINAHL® Complete @EBSCOhost
  Bibliographic: Jan 2012-
3. Direct Access e-Journals

Medicine: Online Resources

Image