Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Performing Arts: Subject Guide

This guide is intended to assist students and researchers find resources in Performing Arts.

Class GT

GT500-2370 Costume. Dress. Fashion

Class PG & PN

PG3071-3089 Russian Literature - Drama
PG3240-3255 Russian Literature - Collections - Drama
PG3300-3493.96 Russian Literature - Individual authors and works
PN1530 The monologue
PN1551 The dialogue
PN1560-1590 The performing arts. Show business
PN1585-1589 Centers for the performing arts
PN6110.5-6120 Drama
PN1635-1650 Relation to, and treatment of, special subjects
PN1660-1693 Technique of dramatic composition
PN1720-1861 History
PN1865-1988 Special types
PN1993-1999 Motion pictures
PN1997-1997.85 Plays, scenarios, etc.
PN2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
PN2061-2071 Art of acting
PN2085-2091 The stage and accessories
PN2131-2193 By period
PN2131-2145 Ancient
PN2152-2160 Medieval
PN2171-2179 Renaissance
PN2181-2193 Modern
PN2219.3-3030 Special regions or countries
PN3035 The Jewish theater
PN3151-3171 Amateur theater
PN3175-3191 College and school theatricals
PN3203-3299 Tableaux, pageants, "Happenings," etc.
PQ1211-1241 French Literature - Drama
PQ4227-4245 French Literature - Collections - Drama
PQ6098.7-6129 Spanish Literature - Drama
PQ6217-(6241) Spanish Literature - Collections - Drama
PQ9083-9095 Portuguese Literature - DramaPQ9164-9170 Portuguese Literature - Collections - Drama
PR621-744 English Literature - Drama
PR641-744 English Literature - Drama - By period
PR1241-1273 Collections of English Literature - Drama
PS330-353 American Literature - Drama
PS623-(635) American Literature - Collections - Drama
PT605-709 German Literature - Drama
PT1251-1299 German Literature - Collections - Drama
PT5250-5295 Dutch Literature - Drama
PT5490-5515 Dutch Literature - Collections - Drama
PT7800-7832 Danish Literature - Drama
PT7999-8020 Danish Literature - Collections - Drama
PT8500-8534 Norwegian Literature - Drama
PT8699-8718 Norwegian Literature - Collections - Drama
PT8750-8952.36 Individual authors or works
PT9415-9449 Swedish Literature - Drama
PT9605-9625 Swedish Literature - Collections - Drama

Class TT

TT490-695 Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring

Library Of Congress Classification Outline​

Understanding Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)​

Why should I bother?

The keywords that I typed are already giving me results. So, is it worth knowing LCSH?

Yes, definitely! Using LCSH can help you be more effective and efficient in your search. They can help you find relevant resources that you might miss with just keyword searching.

Some advantages of using LCSH are :

  • identify specifically what an item is about;
  • identify what type of material an item is;
  • provide more "access points" or paths to relevant materials;
  • make your research more effective and efficient.

LCSH identify what a book or DVD or other item is about using a "controlled vocabulary" system. This means highly structured and specific terms are assigned to an item to accurately describe it.

The library catalog and most databases include the option to search by "subject keyword". If you ente a term in this search that is not included in the assigned LCSH, you may not get results or your results list may have few relevant records. This does not mean that there are few or no works about your topic; it just means that your term is not found in the LCSH system.

There are a number of ways to identify assigned LCSH :

  1. from the library catalog of an item;
  2. from the Cataloging-in-Publication information on the verso (the back of the title page);
  3. from the record of an article in a database which users LCSH in their indexing;
  4. from the Library of Congress website;
  5. from the WorldCat database of library holdings around the world.