Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Begin your research by finding basic information about the topic. Browse Dictionaries, Encyclopedia or handbook to explore more and investigate a topic!
Reference Works: Background Information
Encyclopedias are useful for choosing a topic, educating yourself quickly, understanding various perspectives on a topic, variant spellings, vocabulary, and terminology, and providing bibliographies.
Dictionaries provide a quick definition and often some elaboration on the uses of the term.
Handbooks may also give background through brief articles on various topics, definitions, addresses, and other factual information.
For more dictionaries, handbook and encyclopedias on Medicine in the library collection, go to pendeta.um.edu.my. Type "dentistry + dictionaries " , "dentistry + handbook" , "dentistry + encyclopedia" in the search box.
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Since the dawn of human history, dance has been a vital form of expression in virtually every culture. From the minuet to the tango to kabuki theater to square dancing, it is a part of the social fabric of all societies, as well as an important art form. Now, Oxford presents the firstreference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history. In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical dance, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensivehistorical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, dance performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set is alphabetically arranged, with an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than2,000 illustrations. Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the International Encyclopedia of Dance is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it will be an essential addition to any arts and humanities collection.
Publication Date: 1998-03-26
World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre - Europe by TheWorld Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre:Europecovers theatre since World War II in forty-seven European nations, including the nations which re-emerged following the break-up of the former USSR, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia. Each national article is divided into twelve sections - History, Structure of the National Theatre Community, Artistic Profile, Music Theatre, Theatre for Young Audiences, Puppet Theatre, Design, Theatre, Space and Architecture, Training, Criticism, Scholarship and Publishing and Further Reading - allowing the reader to use the book as a source for both area and subject studies.
Publication Date: 1995-01-20
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years-a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European, and American Charts the flow and influence of music. The Encyclopedia also charts the musical interchanges that followed the movement of people and ideas across the continent, including: cross-regional musical influences throughout Africa * Islam and its effect on African music * spread of guitar music * Kru mariners of Liberia * Latin American influences on African music * musical interchanges in local contexts * crossovers between popular and traditional practices. Audio CD included. Also includes nine maps and 96 music examples.
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Collin's classical music encyclopedia / general editor: Stanley Sadie ; foreword by Vladimir Ashkenazy.
Call Number: ML100 Col
Publication Date: London : Harper Collins Pub., 2000.
The Virgin Encyclopedia of Popular Music by This is a fully updated and concise edition of the six-volume encyclopedia in one volume. With over 3000 entries the book aims to answer any query about any aspect of 20th-century popular music, including rock, reggae, rap and R&B, as well as jazz, soul, country and folk. Each entry is intended to be broad-ranging and democratically inclusive, regardless of the whims of critical fashion. Whether Bow Wow Wow or Bowie, Led Zeppelin or Lead Belly, each entry receives the same approach. Included in each entry is information on birth dates, career facts, discographies and five-star album ratings.
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Music by
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
World's Encyclopedia of Recorded Music by
Publication Date: 1970-09-01
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music by
Publication Date: 1992-11-01
Orchestral Music by Familiar to conductors, orchestra managers, and music librarians, this classic sourcebook of information necessary to plan orchestral programs and organize rehearsals has been greatly expanded and revised. The fourth edition features nearly 6400 compositions that cover the standard repertoire for American orchestras (a 42% increase over the third edition), clearer entries, and a more useful system of appendixes. Included for the first time are entries from the American Symphony Orchestra League's OLIS repertoire database.
Publication Date: 2005-10-13
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education by While qualitative research has become increasingly popular in music education over the last decade, there is no source that explains the terms, approaches and issues associated with this method. In The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education, editor Colleen Conwayand the contributing music educators will provide that clarification, as well as models of qualitative studies within various music education disciplines. The handbook outlines the history of qualitative research in music education and explores the contemporary use of qualitative approaches in examining issues related to music teaching and learning. It includes 32 chapters and is divided into five parts. Part I defines qualitative research andexamines historical, philosophical and ethical issues associated with its use in music education. Part II discusses ways of approaching qualitative research including: case study, ethnography, phenomenology, narrative inquiry, practitioner inquiry, and mixed methods. Ways of collecting and analyzingdata are examined in the third part of the text (observations, interviews, document analysis, music as data and technology). Part IV examines various music teaching and learning contexts that have been studied using qualitative approaches including: early childhood, general, instrumental-band,instrumental-string, choral, preservice and inservice teacher education, adult and community settings, student with exceptionalities, underserved populations, and world music. The final section of the book tackles permission to conduct research, teacher qualitative research, publishing qualitativeresearch and direction for the future. An ambitious and much-needed volume, this handbook will stand as a key resource for drawing meaning from the experiences of students and teachers in music classrooms and communities.
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Music Education by Music education takes place in many contexts, both formal and informal. Be it in a school or music studio, while making music with friends or family, or even while travelling in a car, walking through a shopping mall or watching television, our myriad sonic experiences accumulate from theearliest months of life to foster our facility for making sense of the sound worlds in which we live. The Oxford Handbook of Music Education offers a comprehensive overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts. In thisfirst of two volumes, an international list of contributors discuss a range of key issues and concepts associated with music learning and teaching. The volume then focuses on these processes as they take place during childhood, from infancy through adolescence and primarily in the school-age years. Exploring how children across the globe learn and make music and the skills and attributes gained when they do so, these chapters examine the meansthrough which music educators can best meet young people's musical needs. The second volume of the set brings the exploration beyond the classroom and into later life. Whether they are used individually or in tandem, the two volumes of The Oxford Handbook of Music Education update and redefine thediscipline, and show how individuals across the world learn, enjoy and share the power and uniqueness of music.
Publication Date: 2012-08-08
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy in Music Education by Music education thrives on philosophical inquiry, the systematic and critical examination of beliefs and assumptions. Yet philosophy, often considered abstract and irrelevant, is often absent from the daily life of music instructors. In The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy in Music Education,editors Wayne D. Bowman and Ana Lucia Frega have drawn together a variety of philosophical perspectives from the profession's most exciting scholars. Rather than relegating philosophical inquiry to moot questions and abstract situations, the contributors to this volume address everyday concerns faced by music educators everywhere, demonstrating that philosophy offers a way of navigating the daily professional life of music education and provingthat critical inquiry improves, enriches, and transforms instructional practice for the better. Questioning every musical practice, instructional aim, assumption, and conviction in music education, The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy in Music Education presents new and provocative approaches to thepractice of teaching music. Bowman and Frega go deeper than mere advocacy or a single point of view, but rather conceive of philosophy as a dynamic process of debate and reflection that must constantly evolve to meet the shifting landscapes of music education. In place of the definitive answers often associated withphilosophical work, Bowman and Frega offer a fascinating cross-section of often-contradictory approaches and viewpoints. By bringing together essays by both established and up-and-coming scholars from six continents, Bowman and Frega go beyond the Western monopoly of philosophical practice andacknowledge the diversity of cultures, instructors, and students who take part in music education. This range of perspectives invites broader participation in music instruction, and presents alternative answers to many of the fields most pressing questions and issues. By acknowledging the inherent plurality of music educational practices, the Handbook opens up the field in new and importantways. Emphasizing clarify, fairness, rigor, and utility above all, The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy in Music Educationwill challenge music educators all over the world to make their own decisions and ultimately contribute to the conversation themselves.
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
The Drama Handbook by This book is a compact guide to reading plays, and to the art and techniques of drama. Ranging from classical Greece to modern Drama and performance, but with particular emphasis on the playwrights (including Shakespeare) who are most widely taught and performed, the Handbook covers the wholerange of literary, aesthetic, and political questions attending drama, from theatre designs and acting styles to audience composition and editing printed texts. Looking closely at both text and performance, successive sections give clear and detailed information about the conventions of playtexts,the histories of genre, performance spaces, and theatre personnel, as well as current theatre practices. Each chapter also provides an appropriate technical and critical vocabulary, conveniently gathered in a full, indexed glossary. A final section, dealing with drama essays and exams, includessample student essays, and the bibliography includes targeted further reading as well as extensive guides to playwrights in print and plays on film. Lucid, practical, and thorough, this book is an invaluable resource for anyone who reads plays.
Publication Date: 2002-04-04
Drama Education and Special Needs by Through reflecting on their own developing practice, the contributors recount what the students and themselves have learnt, passing it on in a way which will encourage other teachers to try out ideas of their own.The book considers these practical accounts in a broader educational context and discusses the contribution that drama can make to the whole curriculum.Written by experienced authors who have been teaching young people with special needs for many years.Many teachers new to special education sense that the active, physical aspects of drama may be an invaluable contribution to their classes. This book provides with an insight into a wide range of techniques and ideas upon which to draw for practical classroom work
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Leukemia and Lymphoma Reviews by
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Dictionary of the Theatre by Patrice Pavis is one of France's most brilliant academics and a leading expert internationally in the theory of theatre. Dictionary of the Theatre is an English translation of Pavis's acclaimed Dictionnaire du th#65533;#65533;tre, now in its second printing in France. This encyclopedic dictionary includes theoretical, technical, and semiotic terms and concepts. Alphabetical entries range from 'absurd' to 'word scenery' and treat the reader to a vast panoply of theatre and theory. The extended discussions are supported by useful examples drawn from the international repertoire of plays and playwrights, both classic and contemporary. The Foreword is by Marvin Carlson. This dictionary is remarkably well integrated, partly because of its excellent system of cross-referencing, but also because it represents the vision and scholarship of a single, recognized authority. There is no other source like it available and it will be warmly welcomed by the English-language theatre world.
Publication Date: 1999-02-05
The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre by When the fourth edition of the highly acclaimed Oxford Companion to the Theatre appeared, The Philadelphia Inquirer recommended it as their 1983 book for theater-lovers, calling it "the scorecard you need to keep the players straight--and the plays." Backstage hailed it as "an invaluable reference work of encyclopedic proportions." In fact, since the publication of the first edition of the Companion, this classic reference has become the standard source of information for theatregoers of all kinds. Now completely revised and up to date, this concise version of The Oxford Companion to the Theatre (Fourth Edition) covers all aspects of theatre worldwide and throughout the ages. Readers will find entries on a vast range of theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, and directors, as well as information on theatres, festivals, and such technical topics as lighting, sound, and method acting. The Concise Oxford Companion also provides current entries on people such as Athol Fugard, Anthony Hopkins, Glenda Jackson, Derek Jacobi, Helen Mirren, Trevor Nunn, Peter O'Toole, Willy Russell, and Stephen Sondheim, as well as up-to-date information on places and companies. Some of the new entries not found in the full Companion include the Barbican Theatre, the English Shakespeare Company, Michael Gambon, and The Swan at Stratford. With over 2,500 entries, ranging from Laurence Olivier, to the Shubert theatre in New York, to a new entry on Harvey Fierstein, The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre is an indispensable handbook for all enthusiasts of the theatre.
Publication Date: 1992-09-17
Twentieth-Century American Dramatists by This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here.
Publication Date: 2000-08-04
Latin American Classical Composers by Now in its third edition, Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean. Painstakingly gathered from a wide variety of sources, the information updates and expands previous editions and fills in the gaps left by the other major English-language music dictionaries and encyclopedias. Entries provide biographical data comprising full names, birth and death dates and locations, background, education, and training, as well as selective works lists more than 2,300 composers. An index of composers by country and women composers of Latin America complement the volume. An essential part of any music library, Latin American Classical Composers is an invaluable reference for librarians, musicologists, ethnomusicologists, researchers, and music students.
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music by Derived from the classicOxford Dictionary of Music, this is the most authoritative dictionary of music available in paperback. Up-to-date and clearly written, it is a rich mine of information for lovers of music of all periods and styles. Written by Michael Kennedy, a renowned authority on classical music and chief music critic for The Sunday Telegraph, from 1989 to 2005, the dictionary includes over 14,000 entries on musical terms from allegro to zingaro, and on musical works from Aida to Tosca, as well as musical instruments andtheir history, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras. It also boasts comprehensive works lists for major composers. Fully revised and updated, the 5th edition of this established reference work contains over 200 new entries, including information on aproximately 150 new performers. Essential reference for music students and teachers, and fascinating reading for all other music enthusiasts.
Publication Date: 2007-05-14
International Dictionary of Modern Dance by Offering an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of modern dance, this reference offers alphabetically arranged essays, selected, written and reviewed by expert contributors.
Publication Date: 1998-05-01
Dance Words by First Published in 1995. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Publication Date: 1995-07-01