It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Languages & Linguistics: Subscribed e-Journal
This guide is intended to assist students and researchers find resources in Languages and Linguistics. Click on the tabs on this page to uncover detailed lists of information sources to help answer your questions.
Search in individual databases subscribed by the library or use EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) which can be accessed through Interaktif Portal for relevant articles or subject-related databases to find references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.
Log-in into Interaktif Portal is required to access all electronic resources. Please make sure to log-in using your library number.
List of Databases Relevant to Languages & Linguistics
JSTOR ArchiveJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Subject: Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote
SAGE JournalsSAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Includes more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 298 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
Subject: Social Science, Humanities, Science, Technology, Medicine
Coverage: Fulltext coverage from 1999 onwards
Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote
ScienceDirect®The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business & Management Science Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology.
Subject: Physical Sciences and Engineering; Life Sciences; Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities
Coverage: 1995 - Present
Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote
Scopus™Scopus™ is a revolutionary new navigational product for all sciences from Elsevier. It is an abstract database covering 25 million abstracts from over 12,900 titles across 4,000 publishers, going back to 1966, with 5 years of reference back years. This means that one can obtain details whether a particular article in the database has been cited and details of the citing article. Scopus also offers powerful and innovative searching and browsing tools, with linking capability to the full-text of SUBSCRIBED titles. NOTE: For remote access, only 1 concurrent user.
Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles Only | CampusNet and Remote
Web of ScienceScience Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines—that's 2,100 more journals than the print and CD-ROM versions of the SCI. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
In addition, the Science Citation Index Expanded Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1900 to the present.; Averages 19,000 new records per week.; Includes approximately 423,000 new cited references per week.; As of January 1991, contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles in the index.
Active Learning in Higher Education is an international, peer reviewed publication for all those who teach and support learning in higher education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges.
This international journal is devoted to the history of the Arabic sciences, mathematics, and philosophy in the world of Islam between the eighth and the eighteenth centuries in a cross-cultural context.
Bilingualism: Language and Cognition is an international peer-reviewed journal focusing on bilingualism from a linguistic, psycholinguistic, and neuroscientific perspective. The aims of the journal are to promote research on the bilingual and multilingual person and to encourage debate in the field
The journal provides insights into the contemporary dynamics of Muslim life by focusing on questions concerning the presence of Muslim migrants in the West as well as western-born Muslims, and the continuing active role that Islam plays in their lives. The journal also intends to provide insights into the idea of ‘the West’ among Muslims as well as the relationship between Muslim identities and social life. Contemporary Islam: Dynamics of Muslim Life regards Islam as a modern religion in today’s global societies.
Critical Discourse Studies is an interdisciplinary journal for the social sciences. Its primary aim is to publish critical research that advances our understanding of how discourse figures in social processes, social structures, and social change.
The journal Current Issues in Language Planning provides major summative and thematic review studies spanning and focusing the disparate language policy and language planning literature related to: 1) polities and language planning and 2) issues in language planning. It also publishes individual articles related to any area of language policy and planning.
Discourse is an international, fully peer-reviewed journal publishing contemporary research and theorising in the cultural politics of education. The journal publishes academic articles from throughout the world which contribute to contemporary debates on the new social, cultural and political configurations that now mark education as a highly contested but important cultural site.
Discourse, Context & Media is an international journal dedicated to exploring the full range of contemporary discourse work. It provides an innovative forum to present research that addresses all forms of discourse theory, data and methods - from detailed linguistic or interactional analyses to wider studies of representation, knowledge and ideology.
Language and Literature is an invaluable international journal covering the latest developments in stylistic analysis, the linguistic analysis of literature and related areas. With its uniquely broad coverage, the journal offers readers easy access to all the important new research relevant to stylistics.
Language Resources and Evaluation is the first publication devoted to the acquisition, creation, annotation, and use of language resources, together with methods for evaluation of resources, technologies, and applications.
Language resources include language data and descriptions in machine readable form used to assist and augment language processing applications, such as written or spoken corpora and lexica, multimodal resources, grammars, terminology or domain specific databases and dictionaries, ontologies, multimedia databases, etc., as well as basic software tools for their acquisition, preparation, annotation, management, customization, and use.
Evaluation of language resources concerns assessing the state-of-the-art for a given technology, comparing different approaches to a given problem, assessing the availability of resources and technologies for a given application, benchmarking, and assessing system usability and user satisfaction.
Linguistic Inquiry remains one of the most prominent journals in linguistics and consistently is ranked in the top 10 of all linguistics journals by Thomson ISI. Linguistic Inquiry captures the excitement of contemporary debate in the field by publishing full-scale articles as well as shorter contributions and more extensive commentary. Edited by Samuel Jay Keyser, Linguistic Inquiry has featured many of the most important scholars in the discipline and continues to occupy a central position in linguistics research.
Language in Society is an international journal of sociolinguistics concerned with language and discourse as aspects of social life. The journal publishes empirical articles of general theoretical, comparative or methodological interest to students and scholars in sociolinguistics, linguistic anthropology, and related fields. Language in Society aims to strengthen international scholarship and interdisciplinary conversation and cooperation among researchers interested in language and society by publishing work of high quality which speaks to a wide audience. In addition to original articles, the journal publishes reviews and notices of the latest important books in the field as well as occasional theme and discussion sections.
Anthropological Linguistics provides a forum for the full range of scholarly study of the languages and cultures of the peoples of the world, especially the native peoples of the Americas. Embracing the field of language and culture broadly defined, the journal includes articles and research reports addressing cultural, historical, and philological aspects of linguistic study, including analyses of texts and discourse; studies of semantic systems and cultural classifications; onomastic studies; ethnohistorical papers that draw significantly on linguistic data; studies of linguistic prehistory and genetic classification, both methodological and substantive; discussions and interpretations of archival material; edited historical documents; and contributions to the history of the field.
Oceanic Linguistics: Current Research on Languages of the Oceanic Area is the only journal devoted exclusively to the study of the indigenous languages of the Oceanic area and parts of Southeast Asia. The thousand-odd languages within the scope of the journal are the aboriginal languages of Australia, the Papuan languages of New Guinea, and the languages of the Austronesian (or Malayo-Polynesian) family. Articles in Oceanic Linguistics cover issues of linguistic theory that pertain to languages of the area, report research on historical relations, or furnish new information about inadequately described languages.
Sign Language Studies publishes a wide range of original scholarly articles and essays relevant to signed languages and signing communities. The journal provides a forum for the dissemination of important ideas and opinions concerning these languages and the communities who use them. Topics of interest include linguistics, anthropology, semiotics, Deaf culture, and Deaf history and literature.
PLL is a generalist journal of literary criticism and scholarship published quarterly at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. PLL publishes essays on all national literatures and historical periods, as well as book reviews, notes, and original materials such as notebooks, letters, and journals. PLL defines the word "language" broadly and welcomes submissions on visual and/or digital languages.
The Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (JSLHR) is ASHA’s oldest, largest, and most highly respected research journal. Professionals keep abreast of research in assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of communication disorders through this bi-monthly online publication. Its well-rounded assortment of peer-reviewed research articles makes it a strong choice when you want to appeal to a broad range of ASHA professionals.
Second Language Research is an international peer-reviewed, quarterly journal, publishing original theory-driven research concerned with second (and additional) language acquisition and second language performance. This includes both experimental studies and contributions aimed at exploring conceptual issues. In addition to providing a forum for investigators in the field of non-native language learning, it seeks to promote interdisciplinary research which links acquisition studies to related non-applied fields such as neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, theoretical linguistics, bilingualism, and first language developmental psycholinguistics.