Skip to main content

Languages & Linguistics: Text Books

This guide is intended to assist students and researchers find resources in Languages and Linguistics. Click on the tabs on this page to uncover detailed lists of information sources to help answer your questions.

Search the Library Catalog

How to Search Book

  1. Search library materials in Pendeta Discovery (http://pendeta.um.edu.my)
  2. Use Basic Search or Advanced Search, enter your searching keyword! 
  3. You can refine your search result to be more specific on what you looking for
  4. Click on item's title to see more details of the item especially the subject term and the holding information
  5. Don't forget to note the call number of the item for locating the book on shelf!

Fore help on how to use Pendeta Discovery, simply click this link!

Textbook

TXGX6101 : LINGUISTIC THEORY

Linguistic theory shows learners how different theoretical approaches model linguistic knowledge. They are trained to compare and contrast issues in various linguistic theories including generative, functional and cognitive theories. Learners are also introduced to Arabic linguistics. Learners are provided with an understanding of the historical background to current linguistic theories. They examine and evaluate the concepts from different frameworks and their applications in the analysis of authentic samples of language.

Source:  http://fll.um.edu.my/postgraduate/handbook

TXGX6102 : RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

Apart from teaching students about important concepts such as quantitative, qualitative, reliability and validity, this course also aims to introduce students to scientific and systematic research methodologies. This course is able to help students develop their theses and dissertations.

Source:  http://fll.um.edu.my/postgraduate/handbook

TXGB6103 : COURSE DESIGN AND MATERIALS DEVELOPEMENT

This course provides an overview of the concepts and practices related to course design, and materials development and adaptation. It explores the educational philosophies from elementary to tertiary levels. In addition, learners will get the opportunity to have hands-on experience to conduct a needs analysis for a course, review the teaching-learning materials for the same course, and finally review the course.

Source:  http://fll.um.edu.my/postgraduate/handbook

TXGB6105 : LANGUAGE ACQUISITION

This course provides students with insights into the issues and theories of language learning. A brief overview of relevant thinking in L1 and L2 acquisition theories are also built into the course. Students will develop the practical skills that will lead to the application of theories in their final research projects in language learning and teaching in the context of Malaysia and other regions.

Source:  http://fll.um.edu.my/postgraduate/handbook

TXGB6106 : PSYCHOLOGY OF LANGUAGE LEARNING

This course provides students with an outline of what the psychology of language learning represents as a research field. The focus is on how learning theories and language learning interact. Topics include, among other things, taxonomies and models of learning, motivational theories and second-language acquisition, modular theories of language development, the sensory and cognitive processes involved in language comprehension and production, and connectionism.

Source:  http://fll.um.edu.my/postgraduate/handbook