Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Areas in Sports Science
Publication in Sports Science
Looking for Research Methodology?
Doing a Research Project in Sport Performance Analysis by The research project or dissertation is a core component of any degree programme in the rapidly developing discipline of sport performance analysis. This highly practical and accessible book provides a complete step-by-step guide to doing a research project. Showcasing the very latest research methods, it covers the whole research process, from identifying a research question and system development to data collection, data analysis and writing up the results. Introducing the fundamentals of project planning and management, this book highlights the importance of research ethics and explains the differences between successful undergraduate and postgraduate projects. Full of expert advice and original insights that can be applied to theoretical and empirical research projects, it covers all the key aspects of conducting a degree-level research project, including: selecting a research topic and writing a research proposal working with a supervisor understanding research ethics implementing best practices for project management collecting, interpreting and presenting results. Doing a Research Project in Sport Performance Analysisis an indispensable guide for any student, lecturer or practitioner working in sport performance analysis.
Publication Date: 2017-08-08
Routledge Handbook of Qualitative Research in Sport and Exercise by The last two decades have witnessed a proliferation of qualitative research in sport and exercise. The Routledge Handbook of Qualitative Research in Sport and Exercise is the first book to offer an in-depth survey of established and emerging qualitative methods, from conceptual first principles to practice and process. Written and edited by a team of world-leading researchers, and some of the best emerging talents, the book introduces a range of research traditions within which qualitative researchers work. It explores the different methods used to collect and analyse data, offering rationales for why each method might be chosen and guidance on how to employ each technique successfully. It also introduces important contemporary debates and goes further than any other book in exploring new methods, concepts, and future directions, such as sensory research, digital research, visual methods, and how qualitative research can generate impact. Cutting-edge, timely and comprehensive, the Routledge Handbook of Qualitative Research in Sport and Exercise is an essential reference for any student or scholar using qualitative methods in sport and exercise-related research.
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Qualitative Research Methods in Sport Exercise and Health by Qualitative forms of inquiry are a dynamic and exciting area within contemporary research in sport, exercise and health. Students and researchers at all levels are now expected to understand qualitative approaches and be able to employ them in their work. In this comprehensive and in-depth introductory text, Andrew C. Sparkes and Brett Smith take the reader on a journey through the entire qualitative research process that begins with the conceptualization of ideas and the planning of a study, moves through the phases of data collection and analysis, and then explains how findings might be represented in various ways to different audiences. Ethical issues are also explored in detail, as well as the ways that the goodnessof qualitative research might be judged by its consumers. The book is based on the view that researchers need to make principled, informed and strategic decisions about what, why, when, and how to use qualitative forms of inquiry. The nature of qualitative research is explained in terms of both its core assumptions and what practitioners actually doin the field when they collect data and subject it to analysis. Each chapter is vividly illustrated with cases and examples from published research, to demonstrate different qualitative approaches in action and their relative strengths and weaknesses. The book also extends the boundaries of qualitative research by exploring innovative contemporary methodologies and novel ways to report research findings. Qualitative Research Methods in Sport, Exercise and Health is essential reading for any student, researcher or professional who wishes to understand this form of inquiry and to engage in a research project within a sport, exercise or health context.
Publication Date: 2013-10-02
Research Methods in Physical Education and Youth Sport by This is the first research methods book to focus entirely on physical education and youth sport.nbsp;It guides the reader through the wholenbsp;research process; from the first steps to completion of a dissertation or practice-based project, and introduces key topics such as: formulating a research question qualitative approaches quantitative approaches mixed method research literature review case studies survey, interviews and focus groups data analysis writing the dissertation. Each chapter includes a full range of useful pedagogical features, including chapter summaries, practical activities, case studies, dialogues with active researchers and guidance on further reading and resources. With contributions from some of the world's best-known researchers in the field, this book is indispensible reading for all students and professionals working in physical education, youth sport, sports coaching and related subjects.
Publication Date: 2012-01-26
Performance Assessment for Field Sports by What are the most effective tools, techniques and technologies available to coaches and sport scientists in the assessment of player and team performance? This is the first book dedicated to the assessment of performance in field sports such as soccer, rugby, hockey and lacrosse. It provides detailed and clear information about the laboratory and field-based methods that can be used to evaluate improvements in individual and team performance, from basic physiological assessment to the use of video and information technologies. Standing at the interface between sport sciences and sport coaching, the book examines a wide range of performance criteria, including: physiology strength, conditioning and fitness decision-making coordination and motor skills sport specific skills team play. Integrating cutting-edge theory, research and technology with best practice in applied sport science, this book is important reading for all students of sport sciences, kinesiology, human movement science, sports performance, or sports coaching. Christopher Carling is Head of Sports Science at Lille Football Club. Thomas Reilly is Director of the Research Institute for Sport and Exercise Sciences at Liverpool John Moores University. He is President of the World Commission of Science and Sports. A. Mark Williams is Professor of Motor Behaviour at the Research Institute for Sport and Exercise Sciences, Liverpool John Moores University.
Publication Date: 2009-01-14
Data Analysis and Quantitive Research Methods for Exercise by Data Analysis and Research for Sport and Exercise Scienceis tailored to suit undergraduate sports and exercise science students seeking a clear understanding of data and statistics to support their scientific research. The text is divided into three main areas: Research and Design, Data Analysis and the Interpretation of Findings. Topics covered in the book include: * introduction to the scientific research method * the literature review * developing your research question and experimental design * using statistical analysis to interpret results * presentation of your data * discussing your results and drawing conclusions. Both authors have supervised many student dissertations and have an excellent understanding of the concerns and pitfalls facing those new to this field.
Publication Date: 2003-12-29
Social Research Methods by Nicholas Walliman is the supervisor in your students′ pockets, making sure they understand all the essential methods for successfully carrying out a research project and negotiating the challenges and pitfalls. In this book, he: · Takes students step-by-step through the research process · Helps them formulate clear aims and objectives · Explains all the vocabulary to understand the A - Z of research methods · Ends each chapter with a reading guide for taking learning further with more resources to help get a deeper understanding of the issues discussed · Improves research reports with practical advice on presenting findings in great tables, graphs and diagrams · Opens his office door with reflective questions (and answers) · Delivers the confidence to get started and get finished! Social Research Methods: The Essentials is the perfect starting point and guide for your students′ research project.
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Research Methods in Sport Studies and Sport Management by Research can be a challenging but rewarding activity. All degree-level students studying sport, and all effective professionals working in the sport sector need to have a sound understanding of research methods and how to critically interpret research findings. This broad-ranging, in-depth and practical textbook introduces research methods for students on sport-related degree courses, outlining the knowledge and practical skills needed to undertake meaningful research and to become a knowledgeable consumer of the research of others. The book explores every element of the research process, from the fundamental ¿what, why and who?¿ questions, through research plans, literature review, qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection and data analysis, to the communication of research results. It offers a critical appraisal of alternative methods, including mixed methods, as well as clear guidance on how to use each particular method. Every chapter contains test questions and practical exercises, detailed case studies, a clear chapter summary and extensive guides to further sport-related study resources, to enable students to check their understanding and develop, extend and apply their practical skills. Step-by-step introductions to the use of the key statistical packages Excel, SPSS and NVivo in sport research are included. On-line support materials include some 400 PowerPoint slides and copies of data-sets used in the book. With deeper and broader coverage than any other sport-related research methods textbook, and a clear focus on ¿how to do it¿, Research Methods for Sport Studies and Sport Management is an essential companion for any sport-related degree course.
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Research Methods in Physical Activity by Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, systematically guides students through the research process, introducing methods and tools specifically for kinesiology and exercise science disciplines, including the subdisciplines of physical therapy, rehabilitation, and occupational therapy. The seventh edition leads students and novice researchers to research competency with the distinctive humor that has become a trademark of this internationally recognized text. This text provides step-by-step information for every aspect of the research process, from identifying and devising research questions to analyzing data and compiling results for presentation. Methods for qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods research approaches are addressed, and real-world research questions--including historical, experimental, epidemiological, and philosophical--are presented by scholarly contributors who give suggestions for approaches to follow. Photos, anecdotes, and humorous stories are used throughout the text to put students at ease and emphasize key points through practical applications. Enhancements to the seventh edition include the following: - Updated information and techniques for electronic searches to ensure students use best research practices - New information on meta-analysis and the benefits of journal-style writing that teach readers to evaluate and prepare data for scholarly journals and publication - Special attention to ethical issues to help readers understand the regulations involved in using human and animal subjects - New information on logistic regression that aids in the understanding of complex ideas - Further explanation of qualitative and mixed-methods research approaches, in addition to quantitative approaches, to ensure readers use the most appropriate methodology for their research The content of the seventh edition maintains and expands upon the logical content progression that has made Research Methods in Physical Activity the leading text in the field. Part I presents an overview of the research process, including problem development, preparation of the research plan, and understanding ethical issues in research and writing. Part II introduces statistical and measurement issues in research, and part III presents various types of or approaches to research and methodology from expert researchers in the field. Part IV includes a writing guide for result findings and details how to develop and organize research papers and presentations. Statistical tables and guides are available in the appendix. To aid instructors, Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, includes a suite of ancillary materials featuring an instructor guide, test package, an extra data set for instructors who wish to create specialized learning activities, and presentation package plus image bank. Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, instills in students the confidence to devise, collect, analyze, and present their research in a competent manner by systematically guiding them through the research process. It is an essential text for all emerging researchers in physical activity.
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Research Methods in Biomechanics-2nd Edition by Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition, demonstrates the range of available research techniques and how to best apply this knowledge to ensure valid data collection. In the highly technical field of biomechanics, research methods are frequently upgraded as the speed and sophistication of software and hardware technologies increase. With this in mind, the second edition includes up-to-date research methods and presents new information detailing advanced analytical tools for investigating human movement. Expanded into 14 chapters and reorganized into four parts, the improved second edition features more than 100 new pieces of art and illustrations and new chapters introducing the latest techniques and up-and-coming areas of research. Also included is access to biomechanics research software designed by C-Motion, Visual3D Educational Edition, which allows users to explore the full range of modeling capabilities of the professional Visual3D software in sample data files as well as display visualizations for other data sets. Additional enhancements in this edition include the following: - Special features called From the Scientific Literature highlight the ways in which biomechanical research techniques have been used in both classic and cutting-edge studies. - An overview, summary, and list of suggested readings in each chapter guide students and researchers through the content and on to further study. - Sample problems appear in select chapters, and answers are provided at the end of the text. - Appendixes contain mathematical and technical references and additional examples. - A glossary provides a reference for terminology associated with human movement studies. Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition, assists readers in developing a comprehensive understanding of methods for quantifying human movement. Parts I and II of the text examine planar and three-dimensional kinematics and kinetics in research, issues of body segment parameters and forces, and energy, work, and power as they relate to analysis of two- and three-dimensional inverse dynamics. Two of the chapters have been extensively revised to reflect current research practices in biomechanics, in particular the widespread use of Visual3D software. Calculations from these two chapters are now located online with the supplemental software resource, making it easier for readers to grasp the progression of steps in the analysis. In part III, readers can explore the use of musculoskeletal models in analyzing human movement. This part also discusses electromyography, computer simulation, muscle modeling, and musculoskeletal modeling; it presents new information on MRI and ultrasound use in calculating muscle parameters. Part IV offers a revised chapter on additional analytical procedures, including signal processing techniques. Also included is a new chapter on movement analysis and dynamical systems, which focuses on how to assess and measure coordination and stability in changing movement patterns and the role of movement variability in health and disease. In addition, readers will find discussion of statistical tools useful for identifying the essential characteristics of any human movement. The second edition of Research Methods in Biomechanics explains the mathematics and data collection systems behind both simple and sophisticated biomechanics. Integrating software and text, Research Methods in Biomechanics, Second Edition, assists both beginning and experienced researchers in developing their methods for analyzing and quantifying human movement.
Publication Date: 2013-11-01