Library Guide: Sports Sciences: Online Databases

How to access Databases ?

Online databases can be accessed through A-Z Online Databases. A-Z Online Databases allows you to search for electronics articles, electronic journals, electronic books, magazines, newspapers or dictionaries. Online databases can be accessed within campus or remote.

Materials not available ?

You can make a request to borrow books or receive documents from other library when your required materials not available in the library collection. Request can be made by completing an online application form available at "UM Publication Supply" form.

Useful Guides

Database for Sports Science

SPORTD iscus with Full Text @EBSCOhost

Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote
Description: SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, 299 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Biomedical Reference Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

Subjects Include:

Clinical specialties such as orthopedics
Coaching and education
Consumer health
Exercise science and fitness
Health education
Kinesiology
Nutrition
Occupational health and safety
Physical education
Physical therapy
Sports sciences

Coverage: 1985-

Interdisiplinary Databases

Academic Search Elite @EBSCOhost Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Designed to meet every researcher's needs, this resource contains valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content and provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources. Subject: Multi discipline - Education ; Economics ; Social Sciences ; Medicine etc. Coverage: 1985 onwards
Annual Reviews (2011-2015) Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: Consists of 40 titles: Analytical Chemistry, Anthropology, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics, Cell and Developmental Biology, Clinical Psychology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Ecology, Evolution & Systematics, Entomology, Environmental Resources, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Genomics and Human Genetics, Immunology, Law and Social Science, Marine Science, Materials Research, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pathology : Mechanisms of Disease, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Biology, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Sociology Access coverage 2011-2015 only Subject: Biomedical & Life Sciences ; Physical Sciences ; Social Sciences
BioMed Central (2012-2015) Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research journals. BioMed Central's portfolio of over 100 journals ranges from the highly selective, general interest Journal of Biology, which publishes both online and in print, to a range of specialist online only journals. BioMed Central also publishes Faculty of 1000, the leading literature evaluation service. The research articles in all journals published by BioMed Central are 'open access'. They are immediately and permanently available online without charge. Subscription termination May 2016
Cambridge Journals Online (2011-2015) Access: Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles Only | CampusNet and Remote Description: Access coverage 2011-2015 only Subject: Multidisciplinary
Education Research Complete @EBSCOhost Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs. Subject: Education
Embase Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: With over 25 million indexed records and more than 7,600 currently indexed peer-reviewed journals, Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Subject: Biomedical
Emerald Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: The Electronic Management Research Library Database. Prominent journals include: Management Decision; European Journal of Marketing; International Journal of Operations & Production Management; Personnel Review; The TQM Magazine; Library Management Subject: Covers the major management disciplines including, marketing, HR and organizational development, library & information management, quality and operations management. Coverage: 1989-Present
Health Business Elite @EBSCOhost Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more. Subject: Health Science
JSTOR Archive Access: Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles Only | CampusNet and Remote Description: JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines. Subject: Subscribed collections are Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV and V; Business II Collection
Karger eJournals Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote. Subscription terminated in 2015 Description: Consists of 80 scientific journals. Subscription terminated in 2015. Subject: Research and clinical medicine
MEDLINE Complete @EBSCOhost Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. Subject: Medicine
Nature Journals (2012-2015) Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: Nature, the company's flagship and the world's foremost weekly scientific journal, was launched in 1869. See www.nature.com. Nature Genetics the first Nature research journal, followed 123 years later. Now Nature Publishing Group (NPG) publishes nine Nature research journals, seven Nature Reviews journals and four Nature Clinical Practice titles. Subject: Chemistry; Clinical Practice & Research; Earth & Environment; Life sciences; Physical sciences Coverage: 2012-2015
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection @EBSCOhost Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals. Subject: Psychology
SAGE Journals Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote Description: SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Includes more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 298 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. Subject: Social Science, Humanities, Science, Technology, Medicine Coverage: Fulltext coverage from 1999 onwards
ScienceDirect® Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet Description: The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business & Management Science Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology. Subject: Physical Sciences and Engineering; Life Sciences; Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities Coverage: 1995 - Present
SpringerLink Access: Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles Only | CampusNet and Remote Description: SpringerLink, the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. As of January 2005 all former Kluwer Academic journals are available on SpringerLink. Subject: Life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics.
UpToDate® Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet Description: UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. Subject: Medicine
Wiley Online Library (2012-2015) Access: Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles Only | CampusNet and Remote Description: Wiley InterScience now includes journal content formerly on Blackwell Synergy, providing access to more than 3 million articles across 1400 journals. Journals can be found by using Browse by Subject Area, Browse by Product Type, or Search by Publication Title. Access coverage for selected titles 2012-2015