Welcome to the Dentistry Research Guide. Here you'll find resources and information that will assist you with your research. Click on the tabs on this page to uncover detailed lists of information sources to help answer your questions.
Subject: Dentistry
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 210 journals and dozens of monographs. It includes indexing for all dentistry and oral sciences journals commonly purchased by dental schools and other related institutions.
Subject: Medicine
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
Subject: Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities
Coverage: 1980 to present
Web | Active | Bibliographic
Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines—that's 2,100 more journals than the print and CD-ROM versions of the SCI. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
In addition, the Science Citation Index Expanded Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1900 to the present.; Averages 19,000 new records per week.; Includes approximately 423,000 new cited references per week.; As of January 1991, contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles in the index.
Subject: Biological & Medical Sciences. Major areas of coverage include: Arachnology, Beetles, Crustaceans, Ecology, Economic botany, Entomology, Environmental science.
Coverage: Some journals are covered back to 1998, with the majority being covered from 2000.
BioOne is a unique aggregation of high-impact, bioscience research journals. As an innovative collaboration among scientific societies, libraries, academe and the commercial sector, BioOne is working to help transform the scholarly communication process by providing expanded access to scientific research results. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Thus BioOne represents a core resource for any college or university library supporting undergraduate or advanced studies in the biosciences, and for organizations engaged in research and development. Currently, there are more than 68 full-text journals in the BioOne collection; additional publishers and journals will be added over time and the database aggregation will ultimately encompass over 200 bioscience titles.
Web | Active | Abstracts
Scopus™ is a revolutionary new navigational product for all sciences from Elsevier. It is an abstract database covering 25 million abstracts from over 12,900 titles across 4,000 publishers, going back to 1966, with 5 years of reference back years. This means that one can obtain details whether a particular article in the database has been cited and details of the citing article. Scopus also offers powerful and innovative searching and browsing tools, with linking capability to the full-text of SUBSCRIBED titles.
