Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Begin your research by finding basic information about the topic. Browse Dictionaries, Encyclopedia or handbook to explore more and investigate a topic!
For more dictionaries, handbook and encyclopedias on Medicine in the library collection, go to pendeta.um.edu.my. Type "dentistry + dictionaries " , "dentistry + handbook" , "dentistry + encyclopedia" in the search box.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary by A handy reference ideal for the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 3rd Edition defines over 10,000 terms covering all areas of dentistry. Definitions include specialties such as endodontics, periodontics, surgery, and commonly used medical terms. Pocket sized and easy to carry, this edition includes over 300 illustrations and addresses new innovations, research, technology, and products. Extensive appendices provide quick access to the information you use every day, and a new companion website offers audio pronunciations plus videos and animations. "Being an A5 paperback, it is an excellent resource that can handily be carried around. I would highly recommend it to any student studying dentistry. It is also a good reference for other members of the dental team." Reviewed by: M. L. T. LO, Bristish Dental Journal, Date: Aug 2014 Over 300 illustrations clarify and enhance definitions. Bolded pronunciations indicate terms you can hear on the companion website. Practical appendices (in print and online) provide a reference to abbreviations, clinical oral structures, anesthesia color codes, implants, and more. Colored thumb tabs make it easy to locate definitions quickly. Portable size offers convenience as a chair-side or computer-side reference. A flexible cover provides durability. NEW illustrations include pathology, anatomy, dental materials, and radiology images, clarifying definitions and bringing terms to life. NEW companion website includes over 5,000 audio pronunciations, an expanded image collection, and videos and animations.
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
A Dictionary of Dentistry by This first edition of A Dictionary of Dentistry provides over 4,500 definitions covering all the important terms and concepts used in dentistry today. Entries are written in clear and concise English without the use of unnecessary dental or medical jargon, and many entries are supplemented bydetailed line drawings.The dictionary defines terms in a broad range of dental specialist areas including primary care, anatomy and comparative anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, radiography, radiology, orthodontics, periodontology, restorative dentistry, dental public health, paediatric dentistry, oral surgery,embryology, homeopathy, pharmacology, sedation, histology, implantology, ethics, and oral medicine. For completeness, some drugs, techniques, and instruments of historical interest have been included. It also includes a number of biographies of those who are considered to have made a highlysignificant contribution to dentistry. The principal muscles, nerves, arteries, veins, foramina, and sinuses of the head and neck together with illustrations are grouped together as appendices: also included is a further reading list, and a list of common symbols and abbreviations used in both the UK and America. A key feature of thisbook is the Dictionary of Dentistry companion website, which provides quick access to recommended web links for many entries, plus over 100 full-colour illustrations..An essential guide for dental practitioners and dental students, it is also an invaluable reference source for all members of the dental team, medical practitioners, lawyers involved with members of the dental profession, and the general reader.
Publication Date: 2010-05-06
Mosby's Dental Dictionary by This contemporary, comprehensive glossary includes more than 9,500 terms related to all areas of dentistry; basic, clinical, and behavioral sciences; office management, and commonly used medical terms. Plus, it also includes a companion CD-ROM with a searchable database and audio pronunciations. A full-color format and more than 300 illustrations. Extensive appendices for quick, easy-to-use access to vital information. Synonyms, where applicable. Colored thumb tabs, so you find definitions more quickly.
Publication Date: 2003-12-15
Mosby's Dental Dictionary by Covering all areas of dentistry, this dictionary includes words related to the basic, clinical, and behavioural sciences, drugs, office management and medical terms related to the dental team's interest and involvement in a patient's medical problems.
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
Heinemann Dental Dictionary by A compact and reliable dictionary now familiar to a generation of students in dentistry and related fields. Completely reset from a database, this new edition reflects the wealth of new dental terms that have emerged in recent years.
Publication Date: 1997-08-18
Handbook of Pediatric Dentistry by Suitable for students and practitioners alike, the Handbook of Paediatric Dentistry is a concise, practical and highly illustrated guide to the day-to-day management of child dental patients. Established as the foremost available comprehensive handbook on pediatric dentistry Prepared in an 'easy-to-digest' fashion - which allows for quick reference and easy reading Contains over 550 full colour line artworks, photographs and tables together with 'Clinical Hints' boxes to act as useful aide-mémoires Sets out the essentials for managing conditions such as clefting disorders, haematological and endocrine disorders, congenital cardiac disease, disorders of metabolism, organ transplantation and cancer in children as well as more familiar presentations such as dental trauma, oral infections and caries Detailed appendices provide the reader with information that is often difficult to find and which may be overlooked Designed specifically to give all practitioners confidence when managing children Convenient handbook size ensures that the book can be easily referred to in the clinical setting Endorsed by the Australasian Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Improved layout with completely new colour illustrations Expanded section on sedation Includes details from the most recent international guidelines Cases expanded to show 20 year follow-up New chapter on clinical and surgical techniques New chapter on the care of children with special needs Major revisions of chapters on behaviour management, restorative dentistry, management of cleft lip and palate Increased section on radiographic pathology in children
Publication Date: 2013-08-16
Applied Medicine and Surgery in Dentistry by From the rather sheltered academic environment of the university, the graduate dental provider is thrown into the world to deal with often difficult and sometimes worrying clinical problems. All the information required by postgraduates is, however, difficult to gather into a simple form. Thisbook offers the resident in a general hospital, and also senior members of the profession an aide-memoire that complements their undergraduate training. This book presents the more practical aspects of diagnosis and management, mainly in note and tabular form, primarily for staff in hospitalpositions, but also in community and general dental practice. It covers areas of dentistry that overlap with, or border on, other specialties in the field of medicine and surgery. It includes practical aspects of Oral Medicine and Pathology, and Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, includingTraumatology, and relevant aspects of sedation, anaesthetics and therapeutics. The most important role of this book is to bridge the gap between undergraduate dental and medical knowledge, allowing the dental professional to be able to take a full medical history, examine the patient, perform theappropriate investigations, appreciate the patient's medical problems and their implications on dental management, and finally enabling them to treat their patients in a safe and effective way.
Publication Date: 2010-02-28
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by The new edition of this best-selling pocket guide covers the whole of clinical dentistry in a concise format. The authors have distilled the essentials of clinical practice into a readily accessible style with blank pages provided for readers to add their own notes. This edition has beencompletely revised with a wealth of new information including web-based learning and useful websites, more diagrams and full colour clinical pictures. New material has been included on recent restorative techniques; practice management; the latest developments in therapeutics; orthodontics; paediatric dentistry; life support algorithms, bisphosphonates and dentistry; plus an expanded section of useful websites. This new edition is now in full colour throughout, with more images and many new diagrams.
Publication Date: 2009-10-04
Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by The popular dentistry handbook is now available in a US edition. Like the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentristry produced by OUP UK, the Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Dentistry is a dependable, pocket-sized manual geared for ultra-quick reference any time of the day or night. Writtenby John D. DaSilva, from the acclaimed Harvard School of Dental Medicine, this new Handbook presents the basics of clinical dentistry from a US perspective for dental students and anyone wanting a concise, comprehensive, and affordable volume in the proven format of the Oxford Handbookseries.
Publication Date: 2007-12-14
Handbook of Pediatric Dentistry by Suitable for students and practitioners alike, HANDBOOK OF PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY - is a concise, practical and highly illustrated guide to the day-to-day management of child dental patients. Edited by two of Australia's most eminent clinicians and academics with established global reputations Endorsed by the Australasian Academy of Paediatric Dentistry Written in an accessible, easy-to-read manner to aid retention of facts Provides a source of essential and practical information, not always easy to find elsewhere Multi-contributor authorship ensures complete accuracy and currency of information in sub-specialist areas Translated into several languages - demonstrating the universal appeal of the volume! Designed specifically to give all practitioners confidence when managing children The convenient handbook size ensures that the book can be easily referred to in the clinical setting Completely updated throughout, with now over 450 illustrations Contains an expanded section on behavioral management techniques Includes the latest guidelines on fluoridation Includes new sections on cariology and tooth restoration Full reference to the latest international guidelines on trauma Includes new section on pulp therapy in primary teeth Contains an enhanced section on oral pathology and dental anomalies
Publication Date: 2008-08-01