Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering: Web Resources (Open Access)

This subject guide covers resources available at the UM Libraries for locating information in Engineering. We are here to make sure that you are getting the help you need with library resources, databases, searches, training and instruction.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

Using Google Scholar off campus

To get full-text links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the Universiti Malaya library subscriptions by

  • Selecting Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
  • Selecting Library Links
  • Searching for University of Malaya and selecting it from the list
  • Saving your settings

You will now see 'Access it @ UM' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.

Digital @UM

UM Research Repository
The University of Malaya Research Repository is an Open Access digital archive containing the details of published and unpublished research work produced by the UM researchers. It has been established to provide a deposit service for the academic staff and researchers. VIEW MORE

Students’ Repository
The Students’ Repository provides an online archive for the written work of University of Malaya students such as academic exercises, dissertations and theses. VIEW MORE

Common Repository
The Common Repository is an initiative by the library to preserve printed items digitally to increase accessibility, visibility as well as conserve old copies of items such as gazettes, magazines, journals and books. VIEW MORE

UM Refereed Academic Journal

eJournal@UM developed by PTM, e-Journal system is an integrated publication management system which aims to collect information on the academic output of University of Malaya. It functions as a platform for lecturers, authors, editors and reviewers to collaborate and publish articles. VIEW MORE

UM Memory
UM Memory is an initiative by the library to preserve University of Malaya valuable photos with historical context for the campus community and nation at large. VIEW MORE

Newspaper Clipping

University of Malaya in the news – News coverage relating to University of Malaya, its staff, students and alumni that have appeared in the local, regional and national newspapers. It also provides newspaper reports and pictorial coverage of events, announcements and achievements of the University. The news are updated regularly by the library staff as featured in the public media. To make the news more accesible and organised to users, each newspaper cutting is accompanied by several subjects.

Malaysian Arts Malaysian Art, on the other hand, are news relating to events, exhibitions, artists, developments in the arts arena as reported in the local newspapers.

Malay Manuscripts
The Malay manuscripts in the library are in the form of Jawi script. In total, the Library has acquired and preserved 326 Malay manuscripts. In addition to Malay manuscripts, there are also a manuscripts written about the Pali Buddhist scriptures from Burma, religious rituals in Bali and traditional medicine of the Batak people. VIEW MORE