1. Once you are logged in, click on the “Add Data” button, or “Add Data” navbar link
2. From the dropdown menu select “New Dataverse”.
3. Fill in the following fields on the “New Dataverse” page (required fields in the form are denoted by a red asterisk, next to the label):
Host Dataverse: Select a Dataverse collection you would like to create the new Dataverse collection in, by default the root Dataverse collection is selected if you click the Add Data button from the root Dataverse collection, your My Data page, the Add Data link in the navbar, or the Add a dataset button on the custom homepage (if configured), but you can select any Dataverse collection for which you the proper permissions to create Dataverse collections.
Dataverse Name: Enter the name of your Dataverse collection.
Affiliation: Add any affiliation that can be associated with this particular Dataverse collection (e.g., project name, institute name, department name, journal name, etc). This is automatically filled out if you have added an affiliation for your user account.
Identifier: This is an abbreviation, usually lower-case, that becomes part of the URL for the new Dataverse collection. Special characters (~,`, !, @, #, $, %, ^, &, and *) and spaces are not allowed. Note: if you change this field in the future, the URL for your Dataverse collection will change (http//…/’identifier’), which will break older links to the page.
Category: Select a category that best describes the type of Dataverse collection this will be. For example, if this is a Dataverse collection for an individual researcher’s datasets, select Researcher. If this is a Dataverse collection for an institution, select Organization or Institution.
Email: This is the email address that will be used as the contact for this particular Dataverse collection. You can have more than one contact email address for your Dataverse collection.
Description: Provide a description of this Dataverse collection. This will display on the landing page of your Dataverse collection and in the search result list.
By default the metadata elements will be from the host Dataverse collection that this new Dataverse collection is created in.
The Dataverse Software offers metadata standards for multiple domains. To learn more about the metadata standards in the Dataverse Software please check out the Appendix.
Most metadata fields can be hidden or can be selected as required or optional. Some fields may be selected as conditionally required, depending on metadata options chosen for the Dataverse installation.
Selected metadata fields are also used to pick which metadata fields you would like to use for creating Dataset Templates: after you finish creating your Dataverse collection.
These facets will allow users browsing or searching your Dataverse collection to filter its contents according to the fields you have selected. For example, if you select “Subject” as a facet, users will be able to filter your Dataverse collection’s contents by subject area.
By default, the facets that will appear on your Dataverse collection’s landing page will be from the host Dataverse collection that this new Dataverse collection was created in, but you can add or remove facets from this default.
6. Click the “Create Dataverse” button and you’re done!
