Dataset linking allows a Dataverse collection owner to “link” their Dataverse collection to a dataset that exists outside of that Dataverse collection, so it appears in the Dataverse collection’s list of contents without actually being in that Dataverse collection. You can link other users’ datasets to your Dataverse collection, but that does not transfer editing or other special permissions to you. The linked dataset will still be under the original user’s control.
For example, researchers working on a collaborative study across institutions can each link their own individual institutional Dataverse collections to the one collaborative dataset, making it easier for interested parties from each institution to find the study.
In order to link a dataset, you will need your account to have the “Add Dataset” permission on the Dataverse collection that is doing the linking. If you created the Dataverse collection then you should have this permission already, but if not then you will need to ask the admin of that Dataverse collection to assign that permission to your account. You do not need any special permissions on the dataset being linked.
To link a dataset to your Dataverse collection, you must navigate to that dataset and click the white “Link” button in the upper-right corner of the dataset page. This will open up a window where you can type in the name of the Dataverse collection that you would like to link the dataset to. Select your Dataverse collection and click the save button. This will establish the link, and the dataset will now appear under your Dataverse collection.
There is currently no way to remove established links in the UI. If you need to remove a link between a Dataverse collection and a dataset, please contact the support team for the Dataverse installation you are using.
