The Portal consists of guided information (video & slide presentations) of Library Online Databases training. It gives an overview of the new online features on UM Library subscribe database and It helps outline the best ways to Search, content features and more.
Click on the icon to gain access.
CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. It contains more than 9,800 journals starting from 1915. As of February 2013, the full-text article count reached 43.8 million.
China Doctoral Dissertations Full-text Database is the most comprehensive, highest quality, continuously updated doctor dissertations database in China. It collects dissertations from 404 doctor degree grantors (See Degree Grantors Navigation).By October 1st, 2012, the total paper amount is more than 180 thousand
China Masters' Theses Full-text Database is the most comprehensive, highest quality and continuously updated master theses database in China. It collects excellent theses from more than 621 master degree grantors (See Degree Grantors Navigation). By October 1st, 2012, the total paper amount is more than 1.5 million.
Useful e-Resources / Online Databases (Subscribed by the Library) for Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (AHSS)
Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Designed to meet every researcher's needs, this resource contains valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content and provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Web | Active | Full-text
Coverage: 1985 onwards
Academic institutions worldwide depend on this database as their core resource of scholarly information. Designed to meet every researcher's needs, this resource contains valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content and provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Cambridge Books Online offers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Access to 149 e-book titles
Cambridge Books Online offers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
Access to 149 e-book titles
Click on the icon to gain access.
CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. It contains more than 9,800 journals starting from 1915. As of February 2013, the full-text article count reached 43.8 million.
China Doctoral Dissertations Full-text Database is the most comprehensive, highest quality, continuously updated doctor dissertations database in China. It collects dissertations from 404 doctor degree grantors (See Degree Grantors Navigation).By October 1st, 2012, the total paper amount is more than 180 thousand
China Masters' Theses Full-text Database is the most comprehensive, highest quality and continuously updated master theses database in China. It collects excellent theses from more than 621 master degree grantors (See Degree Grantors Navigation). By October 1st, 2012, the total paper amount is more than 1.5 million.
EBSCO Discovery Service brings together the most comprehensive collection of content—including superior indexing from top subject indexes, high-end full text and the entire library collection—all within an unparalleled full-featured, customizable discovery layer experience.
Subject: Multidiscipline
EBSCO Discovery Service brings together the most comprehensive collection of content—including superior indexing from top subject indexes, high-end full text and the entire library collection—all within an unparalleled full-featured, customizable discovery layer experience.
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Web | Active | Full-text
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
The Electronic Management Research Library Database. Prominent journals include: Management Decision; European Journal of Marketing; International Journal of Operations & Production Management; Personnel Review; The TQM Magazine; Library Management
Subject: Covers the major management disciplines including, marketing, HR and organizational development, library & information management, quality and operations management.
Coverage: 1989-Present
The Electronic Management Research Library Database. Prominent journals include: Management Decision; European Journal of Marketing; International Journal of Operations & Production Management; Personnel Review; The TQM Magazine; Library Management
Empire Online is a powerful and interactive digital resource, enabling undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society.
Subject: Colonial history, politics, culture and society.
Empire Online is a powerful and interactive digital resource, enabling undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society.
Access entire IG Publishing front and back list of over 50,000 ebooks from 92 publishers for 12 months period
Number of pages available to print/download: maximum 40 pages.
List of publishers:-
-ISEAS
-AMACOM
-BSI
-Bentam Science
-Columbia Univ Press
-Edinburg Univ Press
-Ins Engineering & Technology
-Kogan Page
-Liverpool Univ Press
-M.E. Sharpe
-Maney Pub
-Oncology Nursing Soc
-Policy Press
-Royal College of Psychiatrist
-Nordic Institute of Asian Studies
-RIBA
-Univ of California Press
-Univ of Chicago Press
-Univ of Hawaii Press
-Univ of Michigan Press
-World Scientific
and many more!
Subject: Multidiscipline
Access entire IG Publishing front and back list of over 50,000 ebooks from 92 publishers for 12 months period
Number of pages available to print/download: maximum 40 pages.
List of publishers:-
-ISEAS
-AMACOM
-BSI
-Bentam Science
-Columbia Univ Press
-Edinburg Univ Press
-Ins Engineering & Technology
-Kogan Page
-Liverpool Univ Press
-M.E. Sharpe
-Maney Pub
-Oncology Nursing Soc
-Policy Press
-Royal College of Psychiatrist
-Nordic Institute of Asian Studies
-RIBA
-Univ of California Press
-Univ of Chicago Press
-Univ of Hawaii Press
-Univ of Michigan Press
-World Scientific
and many more!
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Subject: Subscribed collections are Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV and V; Business II Collection
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias - Archaeology|Art and Architecture|Classical Studies|History|Language Reference|Law|Linguistics|Literature|MediaStudies|Medicine and Health|Music|Names Studies|Performing Arts|Quotations|Philosophy|Religion|Science and Technology|Social Sciences|Society and Culture
Web | Active | Full-text
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias - Archaeology|Art and Architecture|Classical Studies|History|Language Reference|Law|Linguistics|Literature|MediaStudies|Medicine and Health|Music|Names Studies|Performing Arts|Quotations|Philosophy|Religion|Science and Technology|Social Sciences|Society and Culture
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Subject: Multidiscipline encyclopedias
Web | Active | Full-text
The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Scholarship Online offers full-text access to academic monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law, providing quick and easy access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship.
Access to 53 +142 social sciences & humanities titles only
Subject: Social sciences & humanities - 53 titles
Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles
Oxford Scholarship Online offers full-text access to academic monographs from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law, providing quick and easy access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship.
Access to 53 +142 social sciences & humanities titles only
The 2010 collection contains 222 highly-cited titles, with many of them published in collaboration with some of the world’s most influential societies and other international organizations.The collection includes journals in the following subject areas: Medicine, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Sciences, Law, Humanities, Social Sciences
Subject: Medicine, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Sciences, Law, Humanities, Social Sciences
Coverage: Fulltext: 1996 --
The 2010 collection contains 222 highly-cited titles, with many of them published in collaboration with some of the world’s most influential societies and other international organizations.The collection includes journals in the following subject areas: Medicine, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Sciences, Law, Humanities, Social Sciences
Project Muse currently offers full text online access to over 100 journals from numerous scholarly publishers in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Subject: Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
Web | Active | Full-text
Project Muse currently offers full text online access to over 100 journals from numerous scholarly publishers in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
SAGE Premier is the largest journals package offered by SAGE. The SAGE Premier journals collection contains leading international peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.
Subject: Social Science, Humanities, Science, Technology, Medicine
Coverage: Fulltext coverage from 1999 onwards
Web | Active | Full-text
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Includes more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 298 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
Formerly known as SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO). Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
Subject: Social Sciences
Web | Active | Full-text
Formerly known as SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO). SRMO is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links content and methods terms. SRMO contains content from Over 500 books; Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks; The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series; A Major Work collating a selection of journal articles; Newly commissioned videos.
The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business & Management Science Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology.
Subject: Physical Sciences and Engineering; Life Sciences; Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities
Coverage: 1995 - Present
Web | Active | Full-text
The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business & Management Science Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology.
Covering a wide range of scientific disciplines, including those published under the renowned Pergamon and Academic Press imprints
Subject: Subscribed collections:
1995-2007: Medicine and Dentistry, Immunology and Microbiology and Biochemistry, Genetics and Microbiology
2010-2013: Biochemistry, Genetics & Molecular Sc; Engineering; Chemical Engineering; Material Sc; Clinical Medicine
Coverage: 1995 to 2007 ; 2010 to 2013
Web | Active | Full-text
Covering a wide range of scientific disciplines, including those published under the renowned Pergamon and Academic Press imprints
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Subject: Social sciences
Web | Active | Full-text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Springer introduces the world’s most comprehensive digitized scientific, technical and medical (STM) book collection. The Springer eBook Collection offers the first online book collection especially made for the requirements of researchers and scientists.
Subject: Architecture,Design & Arts; Behavioral Sciences; Biomedical & Life Sciences; Business & Economics; Chemistry & Material Science; Computer Science; Earth & Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Soc Sciences & Law; Mathematics; Physics & Astronomy
Coverage: Subscribed collections: 2006-2013 copyright collections; Approximately 30,745 titles
Web | Active | Full-text
Springer introduces the world’s most comprehensive digitized scientific, technical and medical (STM) book collection. The Springer eBook Collection offers the first online book collection especially made for the requirements of researchers and scientists.
SpringerLink, the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. As of January 2005 all former Kluwer Academic journals are available on SpringerLink.
Subject: Life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics.
Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles Only
SpringerLink, the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. As of January 2005 all former Kluwer Academic journals are available on SpringerLink.
This site offers instant access to the world's premier Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences and Law content — from renowned imprints such as Routledge, Psychology Press and Focal Press.
Access to 219 selected titles only
Subject: Archaeology, Asian Studies, Business & Management, Economics, English Language & Linguistics, Geography, Health Studies, History, Law, Literature, Media & Communication, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology & Mental Health, Social Work, Sociology.
Web | Active | Full-text. Access to 219 selected titles only
This site offers instant access to the world's premier Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences and Law content — from renowned imprints such as Routledge, Psychology Press and Focal Press.
Access to 219 selected titles only
Wiley Online Books combine quality content with the convenience, accessibility and enhanced functionality of electronic access - currently limited to achitecture & planning collection (41) and 100 selected titles
Subject: Architecture & Planning
Coverage: Architecture & Planning (41 titles) and 100 selected titles
Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles
Wiley Online Books combine quality content with the convenience, accessibility and enhanced functionality of electronic access - currently limited to achitecture & planning collection (41) and 100 selected titles
Wiley InterScience now includes journal content formerly on Blackwell Synergy, providing access to more than 3 million articles across 1400 journals. Journals can be found by using Browse by Subject Area, Browse by Product Type, or Search by Publication Title.
Coverage: Subscribed Journals Only.
Web | Active | Full-text: Subscribed Titles Only
Wiley InterScience now includes journal content formerly on Blackwell Synergy, providing access to more than 3 million articles across 1400 journals. Journals can be found by using Browse by Subject Area, Browse by Product Type, or Search by Publication Title.
Only 36 titles. Access granted by Malaysian Citation Center
World Scientific publishes about 600 new titles a year and 130 journals in various fields. Many of its books are recommended texts adopted by renowned institutions such as Harvard University, California Institute of Technology, Stanford University and Princeton University
Subject: Multidisciplinary.
Web | Active | Full-text. Only 36 titles. Access granted by Malaysian Citation Center
Only 36 titles. Access granted by Malaysian Citation Center
World Scientific publishes about 600 new titles a year and 130 journals in various fields. Many of its books are recommended texts adopted by renowned institutions such as Harvard University, California Institute of Technology, Stanford University and Princeton University
This link opens in a new window