Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International and Strategic Studies: Database

This guide is designed to direct you to the useful resources for International and Strategic Studies. We welcome any suggestion and recommendation to enhance this guide. Send your suggestion to any of the librarians in this page.

How to access the library's databases

To access the databases you will need to have the library ID. It is the x number on top of the barcode which can be found at the back of your matric card. 

  1. To access the portal, simply enter the library ID into the blank box located on top of the library website http://umlib.um.edu.my.
  2. To request for document delivery, get in the interaktif portal using the same library ID.

Tips for Finding Articles

1. Use online databases to find articles in journals, newspapers, and magazines (periodicals). You can search for periodical articles by the article author, title, or keyword by using databases in your subject area in 

http://www.diglib.um.edu.my/interaktif/

2. Choose the database best suited to your particular topic.

3. Ask at the reference desk if you need help figuring out which ones are best.

4. If the article full text is not linked from the citation in the database you are using, search for the title of the periodical in our Library Catalog http://pendeta.um.edu.my. This catalog lists the print, microform, and electronic versions of journals, magazines, and newspapers available in the library.

Recommended Databases

The following are recommended databases that can be used to search for information on East Asian Studies :

EBSCO Discovery Service

EBSCO Discovery Service  

EBSCO Discovery Service provides users with an easy, yet powerful means of accessing all of an institution's information resources through a single search. 

Useful related video