Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
After choosing a topic, you will need to locate introductory sources that give basic background information about the subject. Finding background information at the beginning of your research is especially important if you are unfamiliar with the subject area, or not sure from what angle to approach your topic.This guide provides resources for a wide variety of topics related to the Anthropology & Sociology.
Reference Works: Background Information
Encyclopedias are useful for choosing a topic, educating yourself quickly, understanding various perspectives on a topic, variant spellings, vocabulary, and terminology, and providing bibliographies.
Dictionaries provide a quick definition and often some elaboration on the uses of the term.
Handbooks may also give background through brief articles on various topics, definitions, addresses, and other factual information.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedia
Encyclopaedia of philosophy and psychology : including many of the principal conceptions of ethics, logic, aesthetics, philosophy of religion, mental pathology, anthropology, biology, neurology, physiology, economics, political and social philosophy, phil by
Call Number: B51 Enc
Publication Date: 1986
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology by This companion provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary thinking in biological, social and cultural anthropology. In bringing these three fields together, it establishes their interconnections, and lays the foundations for an integrated perspective on the conditions of human life appropriate to the challenges of the future. In 35 chapters, a selection of the world's leading authorities present their own visions in their different fields and chart out new directions of inquiry.
Publication Date: 1997-03-13
International Handbook of War, Torture, and Terrorism by Armed conflict, on domestic or foreign soil, impacts people's daily lives and shapes policy around the world. Millions live with the threat of terrorism, whether from random sources or known enemies. And the acceptability of torture is debated by politicians and public alike. The International Handbook of War, Torture, and Terrorism synthesizes historical backgrounds, current trends, and findings from the Personal and Institutional Rights to Aggression and Peace Survey (PAIRTAPS), administered in forty countries over nine global regions. Contributors examine the social, cognitive, and emotional roots of people's thinking on war and national security issues, particularly concerning the role of governments in declaring war, invading other countries, or torturing prisoners. By focusing on the cultural traditions and colonial histories of broad regions rather than of individual nations, the book demonstrates how context shapes ordinary citizens' views on what is justifiable during times of war, as well as more nebulous concepts of patriotism and security. The Handbook: Introduces the PAIRTAPS and explains the methodology for analyzing responses. Defines war-related concepts from the unique perspectives of Western Europe, U.K./U.S., Middle East, Gulf States, Russia/Balkans, Africa, Latin America, South/Southeast Asia, and East Asia. Provides an integrative summary of definitions and points of view. Situates results in terms of social engagement/disengagement theory. Considers implications for peace and reconciliation. As a reflection of the changing global landscape, the International Handbook of War, Torture, and Terrorism deserves to be read by a wide range of researchers in peace psychology, political science, sociology, and anthropology.
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Handbook of Identity Theory and Research by Identity is one of the most extensively studied constructs in the social sciences. Yet, despite the wealth of findings across many disciplines, identity researchers remain divided over such enduring fundamental questions as: What exactly is identity, and how do identity processes function? Do people have a single identity or multiple identities? Is identity individually or collectively oriented? Personally or socially constructed? Stable or constantly in flux? The Handbook of Identity Theory and Research offers the rare opportunity to address the questions and reconcile these seeming contradictions, bringing unity and clarity to a diverse and fragmented literature. This exhaustive reference work emphasizes the depth and complexity of identity processes and domains and presents perspectives from many different theoretical schools and empirical approaches. Contributing authors provide perspectives from psychology (e.g., narrative, social identity theory, neo-Eriksonian) and from other disciplines (e.g., sociology, political science, ethnic studies); and the editors highlight the links between chapters that provide complementary insights on related subjects. In addition to covering identity processes and categories that are well-known to the field, the Handbook tackles many emerging issues, including: - Identity development among adopted persons. - Identity processes in interpersonal relationships. - Effects of globalization on cultural identity. - Transgender experience and identity. - Consumer identity and shopping behavior. - Social identity processes in xenophobia and genocide. The Handbook of Identity Theory and Research lends itself to a wealth of uses by scholars, clinicians, and graduate students across many disciplines, including social, developmental, and child/school psychology; human development and family studies; sociology; cultural anthropology; gender, ethnic, and communication studies; education; and counseling.
Publication Date: 2011-06-22
Handbook of the Sociology of Morality by Human beings necessarily understand their social worlds in moral terms, orienting their lives, relationships, and activities around socially-produced notions of right and wrong. Morality is sociologically understood as more than simply helping or harming others; it encompasses any way that individuals form understandings of what behaviors are better than others, what goals are most laudable, and what "proper" people believe, feel, and do. Morality involves the explicit and implicit sets of rules and shared understandings that keep human social groups intact. Morality includes both the "shoulds" and "should nots" of human activity, its proactive and inhibitive elements. At one time, sociologists were centrally concerned with morality, issues like social cohesion, values, the goals and norms that structure society, and the ways individuals get socialized to reproduce those concerns. In the last half-century, however, explicit interest in these topics has waned, and modern sociology has become uninterested in these matters and morality has become marginalized within the discipline. But a resurgence in the topic is happening in related disciplines - psychology, neurology, philosophy, and anthropology - and in the wider national discourse. Sociology has much to offer, but is not fully engaged in this conversation. Many scholars work on areas that would fall under the umbrella of a sociology of morality but do not self-identify in such a manner, nor orient their efforts toward conceptualizing what we know, and should know, along these dimensions. The Handbook of the Sociology of Moralitynbsp;fills a niche within sociology making explicit the shared concerns of scholars across the disciplines as they relate to an often-overlooked dimension of human social life. It is unique in social science as it would be the first systematic compilation of the wider social structural, cultural, cross-national, organizational, and interactional dimension of human moral (understood broadly) thought, feeling, and behavior.
Publication Date: 2010-10-17
Handbook of Urban Studies by With half of the world's population residents in them, cities dominate how our economies are spatially structured and restructured, and how social life is experienced. Under conditions of accelerating globalization, cities are the principal intermediaries through which economic growth is sustained and have long been the primary loci through which political control is maintained. Taking a holistic viewpoint, the Handbook of Urban Studies provides a comprehensive appreciation of urban structure and change, and of the theories by which we understand the structure, development, and changing character of cities. Leading authors identify and analyze key issues, within the following sections: -Identifying the City -The City as Environment -The City as People -The City as Economy -The City as Organized Polity -Power and Policy Discourses in Postmodern Cities -Cities in Transition A comprehensive overview of the urban condition, this Handbook will appeal to a wide readership, from academics to researchers and policy-makers. As a theoretically and empirically informed account embracing the different disciplines contributing to urban studies, this book forms a unique and indispensable resource for professionals and researchers in urban studies, urban and town planning, social and cultural geography and public administration, as well as for all those concerned with the role of the city and urbanization in the disciplines of politics, sociology and economics.
Publication Date: 2001-03-22
The Handbook of Economic Sociology by The Handbook of Economic Sociology, Second Edition is the most comprehensive and up-to-date treatment of economic sociology available. The first edition, copublished in 1994 by Princeton University Press and the Russell Sage Foundation as a synthesis of the burgeoning field of economic sociology, soon established itself as the definitive presentation of the field, and has been widely read, reviewed, and adopted. Since then, the field of economic sociology has continued to grow by leaps and bounds and to move into new theoretical and empirical territory. The second edition, while being as all-embracing in its coverage as the first edition, represents a wholesale revamping. Neil Smelser and Richard Swedberg have kept the main overall framework intact, but nearly two-thirds of the chapters are new or have new authors. As in the first edition, they bring together leading sociologists as well as representatives of other social sciences. But the thirty chapters of this volume incorporate many substantial thematic changes and new lines of research--for example, more focus on international and global concerns, chapters on institutional analysis, the transition from socialist economies, organization and networks, and the economic sociology of the ancient world. The Handbook of Economic Sociology, Second Edition is the definitive resource on what continues to be one of the leading edges of sociology and one of its most important interdisciplinary adventures. It is a must read for all faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates doing work in the field. A thoroughly revised and updated version of the most comprehensive treatment of economic sociology available Almost two-thirds of the chapters are new or have new authors Authors include leading sociologists as well as representatives of other social sciences Substantial thematic changes and new lines of research, including more focus on international and global concerns, institutional analysis, the transition from socialist economies, and organization and networks The definitive resource on what continues to be one of the leading edges of sociology and one of its most important interdisciplinary adventures A must read for faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates doing work in the field
Publication Date: 2005-02-27
Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia by The Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia of Peoples and Cultures serves both as a handbook to the issues underlying current affairs and as a source of information on how and why people throughout the world live as they do. Sixty specialists have contributed to the 2,200 entries under the guidance of forty expert advisers. The subjects covered include religions; political systems and theory; economics; commerce and management; communications and advertising; education; social services; health and welfare. Biographiesof the major figures in their field are given. Entries reflect the variety of information required in today's hybrid society, and special attention is given to different cultural viewpoints. A 46-page illustrated section on the countries of the world includes an entry, locator map, and table of statistics for each country, which summarize itspolitical and economic structure.
Publication Date: 1992-12-24