Library Guide: Built Environment: Online Databases

How to access Databases ?

Online databases can be accessed through Interaktif Portal. Databases allows you to search for electronics articles, electronic journals, electronic books, magazines, newspapers or dictionaries. Online databases can be accessed within campus or remote. Use your library number ( X...) to login.

Useful Guides

Materials not available ?

You can make a request to borrow books or receive documents from other library when your required materials not available in the library collection. Request can be made by completing an online application form available at UM Library Interaktif Portal. Login at http://www/digilib.um.edu.my using your library barcode ( X...)

eJournals by Subjects

Online Database for Built Environment

RIBA e-Books

Publisher: RIBA Publishing
Access: Web | Active | Full-text | CampusNet and Remote
Description: 91 e-book titles
Number of pages available to print/download: maximum 40 pages
Coverage: 1976-2010

Subject:

Architecture - Accessible design
Architectural history
Contracts & law
Design guidance
Health & safety
Practice management
Self-build
Sustainability
Urban design

ICONDA (International Construction Database) - OVID

Publisher: International Council for Building Research, Studies and Documentation (CIB)

Access: Web | Active | Abstracts | CampusNet and Remote (1 concurrent user)

Description: ICONDA (International Construction Database) is the database of the International Council for Building Research, Studies and Documentation (CIB), and covers the worldwide literature on all fields of building construction, construction engineering, architecture and town planning. The Information Center for Regional Planning and Building Construction (IRB) of the Fraunhofer-Society, as the ICONDA-Agency, coordinates the international cooperation of several organizations with various functions, including information and documentation centers, research institutes and specialized publishers.

Coverage: Coverage 1976-Present

Subject:

Architectural design and planning,
Construction of industrial,
Commercial, and residential structures,
Structural design,
Material properties and testing, etc.

Interdiciplinary Databases

ScienceDirect® The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business & Management Science Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology.
Subject: Physical Sciences and Engineering; Life Sciences; Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities
Coverage: 1995 - Present
Web | Active | Full-text

The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business & Management Science Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology.
Scopus™ Scopus™ is a revolutionary new navigational product for all sciences from Elsevier. It is an abstract database covering 25 million abstracts from over 12,900 titles across 4,000 publishers, going back to 1966, with 5 years of reference back years. This means that one can obtain details whether a particular article in the database has been cited and details of the citing article. Scopus also offers powerful and innovative searching and browsing tools, with linking capability to the full-text of SUBSCRIBED titles.
Web | Active | Abstracts
Scopus™ is a revolutionary new navigational product for all sciences from Elsevier. It is an abstract database covering 25 million abstracts from over 12,900 titles across 4,000 publishers, going back to 1966, with 5 years of reference back years. This means that one can obtain details whether a particular article in the database has been cited and details of the citing article. Scopus also offers powerful and innovative searching and browsing tools, with linking capability to the full-text of SUBSCRIBED titles.
Web of Science Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines—that's 2,100 more journals than the print and CD-ROM versions of the SCI. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles. In addition, the Science Citation Index Expanded Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1900 to the present.; Averages 19,000 new records per week.; Includes approximately 423,000 new cited references per week.; As of January 1991, contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles in the index.
Subject: Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities
Coverage: 1980 to present
Web | Active | Bibliographic
Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines—that's 2,100 more journals than the print and CD-ROM versions of the SCI. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
In addition, the Science Citation Index Expanded Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1900 to the present.; Averages 19,000 new records per week.; Includes approximately 423,000 new cited references per week.; As of January 1991, contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles in the index.

Click here for full list of databases

ICONDA (International Construction Database) @Ovid