Textbook for Postgraduate
Assessing Affective Characteristics in the Schools by
The affective realm is a critical, but often forgotten, aspect of schooling. The development of character and the formation of appropriate learning environments rely to a large extent on understanding the affective nature of students. Even when the focus is on cognitive achievement, affect has a role to play.
Teenage Sociology by
Teenage Sociology is about the changing society that we, as teenagers, are growing up in. The book describes how we are living in a society that is becoming increasingly narcissistic, and the affect this has on us. After reading this book you will see the root causes of our societies worst aspects. And you will find the solutions and gain the knowledge to change our world.
Evaluation Roots by
Evaluation Roots: A Wider Perspective of Theorists' Views and Influences, Second Edition provides an updated examination of current evaluation theories and traces their evolution. The author shows how theories build upon theories and, therefore, evaluation theories are related to each other. The way in which these evaluation 'roots' grew to form a tree helps to provide a better understanding of evaluation theory. In addition to the editor's overview, which analyzes the evaluation theory tree and connections among theories, the book contains essays by most of the leading evaluation theorists. In these pieces, the evaluators comment on their own development and give their views of their placement upon the tree.
Assessment, Evaluation, and Programming System (AEPS) for Infants and Children by
Much more than a measurement tool, the activity-based, field-tested AEPS links assessment, intervention, and evaluation for children from birth to 6 years who have disabilities or are at risk for developmental delays. With this reorganized, extensively updated second edition, early intervention professionals can assess and monitor six key developmental areas in young children: fine motor, gross motor, cognitive, adaptive, social-communication, and social.
Experimental and Quasi-Experimental Designs for Generalized Causal Inference by
This long awaited successor of the original Cook/Campbell Quasi-Experimentation: Design and Analysis Issues for Field Settings represents updates in the field over the last two decades. The book covers four major topics in field experimentation:
Home, School, and Community Relations by
This practical, comprehensive book is an indispensable guide for home-school-community collaborations. HOME, SCHOOL, & COMMUNITY RELATIONS, 9th Edition, meets the needs of teachers and administrators who desire to create effective, culturally-competent partnerships with families, and helps to prepare future teachers for their careers. It provides an overview of modern families and their complex roles and beliefs to sensitize teachers to the diversity and needs of families they will encounter, including multilingual, multiethnic, multigenerational, and gender-diverse families from different socioeconomic backgrounds. The book fully discusses both the benefits of creating productive partnerships and the barriers that teachers must overcome. Abundant examples clarify the book's practical and effective communication strategies. Current developments in the field of early childhood education are emphasized, including brain research and development, legislative mandates in education, professional standards of the field, and strategies for working with families of students with diverse learning needs.
Reforms in Islamic Education by
In recent times, there has been intense global interest on and scrutiny of Islamic education. In reforming Islamic schools, what are the key actions initiated and are they contested or negotiated by and among Muslims? This edited collection brings together leading scholars to explore current reforms in Islamic schools. Drawing together international case studies, Reforms in Islamic Education critically discusses the reforms, considering the motivations for them, nature of them and perceptions and experiences of people affected by them. The contributors also explore the tensions, resistance, contestations and negotiations between Muslims and non-Muslims, and among Muslims, in relation to the reforms. Highlighting the need to understand and critique reforms in Islamic schools within broad historical, political and socio-cultural contexts, this book is a valuable resource for academics, policymakers and educators.
Educational Development Through Information and Communications Technology by
Bringing together contributions from a range of higher educational settings in the UK and internationally, this book explores the practical use that can be made of IT by educators seeking to improve their teaching and learning.
Doing Early Childhood Research by
"It is rare for any research methodology book to cover so much ground, and contain so many different kinds of resources between two covers." Journal of Education for Teaching "As a guide for new and inexperienced researchers, it is second to none." British Journal of Educational Studies Doing Early Childhood Research demystifies the research process. An international team of experienced researchers shows how to select methods which are appropriate for working with young children in early childhood settings or at home. They provide a thorough introduction to the most common research methods used in the early childhood context. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of much early childhood research, they cover a wide range of conventional and newer methods including observation, small surveys, interviews with adults and children, action research, ethnography and quasi-experimental approaches. They explain clearly how to set up research projects which are theoretically grounded, well-designed, rigorously analysed, feasible and ethically based. Each chapter is illustrated with examples. Widely used by early childhood researchers in many countries, this second edition of Doing Early Childhood Research has been fully revised. It includes new chapters on beginning research, mixed methods research, interviewing children, and working with Indigenous children, and also new case study chapters. It is essential reading for novice, initial career and experienced researchers. Contributors Maria Assunção Folque, Sue Atkinson-Lopez, Mindy Blaise, Liane Brow, Margaret Coady, Audrey D'Souza Juma, Anne Edwards, Sue Emmett, Susan Grieshaber, Linda Harrison, Alan Hayes, Patrick Hughes, Glenda Mac Naughton, Karen Martin, Sharne A. Rolfe, Iram Siraj-Blatchford, John Siraj-Blatchford, Louise Taylor, Teresa Vasconcelos
Clinical Mental Health Counseling in Community and Agency Settings by
Beginning counseling students get a comprehensive, user-friendly, real-world look at all aspects of the field of clinical mental health counseling in this popular text. Here the authors combine an insightful introduction to the foundations with a first-hand look at the many roles and functions clinical mental health counselors perform, the variety of settings in which they work, and how that work differs from one client population to another. The focus is on approaches that promote prevention, early intervention, wellness, and advocacy and take into account the client, the environment, and the interaction between the two. Included in this Fourth Edition of Clinical Mental Health Counseling in Community and Agency Settings is new information on professional identity; the effects of today's technological changes, such as cyber bullying and social networking; holistic perspectives; biopsychosocial assessment, case conceptualization, and treatment planning; counseling in today's diverse society; counseling in college and university settings; suicide assessment and intervention; counseling older adults; and more.
Program Evaluation by
May be used by education professionals and decision-makers who are responsible for implementing new programs and innovations in education. Presents a practical, real-world framework for education program evaluation that addresses current methods, important decisions, planning tasks, and ethical issues that face the evaluator. Presents the major steps of planning and conducting an evaluation sequentially through the book. Contains an entire chapter containing the latest information on qualitative inquiry and its applications to evaluation. Includes comprehensive individual chapters on performance and portfolio assessment.
Powerful Teacher Education by
Powerful Teacher Education describes the strategies, goals, content, and processes of seven highly successful and long-standing teacher education programs - Alverno College, Bank Street College, Trinity University, University of California, Berkeley, University of Southern Maine, University of Virginia, and Wheelock College. All these colleges and universities have succeeded in preparing teachers to teach diverse learners to achieve high levels of performance and understanding. In discussing the common features of these programs, Linda Darling-Hammond shows what outstanding teacher education models do and how they do it, and what their graduates accomplish as a result. Powerful Teacher Education also examines the policies, organizational features, resources, and relationships that have enabled these programs to succeed.
Educational and Psychological Measurement and Evaluation by
Going into its eighth edition, this book is a classic in the field of educational measurement. It was written from the point of view of the classroom teacher to answer the question, "What does a teacher need to know about the development and evaluation of educational measures and assessments?" This book fosters an understanding of how assessment and instruction are interrelated. It also cultivates learning the techniques and skills needed to develop tests and other evaluation procedures (e.g. portfolios), as well as teaches students to understand how to evaluate the validity and reliability of tests. Unlike many books in educational measurement, this book also gives readers what they need to know to properly interpret the results from standardized achievement and scholastic aptitude tests. Topics include: test reliability and validity; meaning and application of the norms; extraneous factors that influence performance of cognitive tests; the development of educational measures; and more. Teachers, principals, and counselors.
Creative Thinking and Arts-Based Learning by
Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0133400107. In Creative Thinking and Arts-Based Learning: Preschool Through Fourth Grade, 6/eJoan Packer Isenberg and Mary Renck Jalongo show future and current early childhood educators how to integrate children's creativity, play, and the arts into their curriculum in a way that fosters learning and growth and meets accountability measures, by emphasizing the use of technology to enhance creativity and the arts, with myriad suggestions to differentiate instruction and make adaptations for diverse learners across the art forms. Organized into four main parts, the text covers the foundations of creative thought; examines children's play, games, and inventions; addresses the subject areas that are traditionally associated with the creative arts; delves into the teacher's role-supporting creative expression and play, assessing creative processes and products, and working with diverse families and communities; and discusses effective design and use of environments, materials, and resources. Unique boxed pedagogical features make the text more practical, readable, and helpful to the early childhood educator.
Discourse Analysis by
Fully revised and updated throughout, the new edition of Discourse Analysis is a user-friendly textbook for students taking their first course in linguistic approaches to discourse. Second edition of a popular introductory textbook, combining breadth of coverage, practical examples, and student-friendly features Includes new sections on metaphor, framing, stance and style, multimodal discourse, and Gricean pragmatics Considers a variety of approaches to the subject, including critical discourse analysis, conversation analysis, interactional and variationist sociolinguistics, ethnography, corpus linguistics, and other qualitative and quantitative methods Features detailed descriptions of the results of discourse analysts work Retains and expands the useful student features, including discussion questions, exercises, and ideas for small research projects.
Basics of Qualitative Research by
A landmark volume in the study of qualitative methods, the book presents methods that enable researchers to analyze and interpret their data, and ultimately build theory from it. Highly accessible in their approach, authors Juliet Corbin and Anselm Strauss (late of the University of San Francisco and co-creator of grounded theory) provide a step-by-step guide to the research act, from the formation of the research question through several approaches to coding and analysis, to reporting on the research. Significantly revised and full of definitions and illustrative examples, this highly accessible book concludes with chapters that present criteria for evaluating a study, as well as responses to common questions posed by students of qualitative research.
Leadership by 
Handbook of Data Analysis by 
Qualitative Data Analysis by 
Doing Quantitative Research in Education with SPSS by 
Clinical Manual of Couples and Family Therapy by 
Making Sense of Multivariate Data Analysis by Textbook for Undergraduate
Theory and Practice of Counseling and Psychotherapy by 
Abnormal Psychology in a Changing World by 
Intentional Interviewing and Counseling by 
Skills in Gestalt Counselling and Psychotherapy by 
Doing Action Research in Your Own Organization by 
Ethics in Counseling and Psychotherapy by 
Principles of Language Learning and Teaching by 
Teacher Learning in Language Teaching by 
The Art of Action Research in the Classroom by 
Teaching ESL/EFL Reading and Writing by 
A Case for Teaching Literature in the Secondary School by 
Teaching Mathematics in Early Childhood by 
Teaching Stem in the Early Years by 
Education in Computer Generated Environments by 
