Library Guide: Open Access Guide: OA Books

e-Books

Publishers and Hosts
Selected Titles

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
44,600+ academic peer-reviewed books from 660+ publishers. DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.
Cambridge Core Open Access
120+ Open Access books from Cambridge University Press.
Google Books
Service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned. On Google Books, you can read books and magazines, download them for later, cite them and translate them.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection
InTechOpen Book Series
We pride ourselves on our belief that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be levelled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.
Internet Archive
Offers over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
JSTOR Open Access eBooks
7,000+ Open Access ebooks from 90 publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
OAPEN Online library and publication platform
OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication.
Project Gutenberg
A library of over 60,000 free eBooks.
Springer Open Access Books
Springer open access books are freely and immediately available online from our official platform, SpringerLink, upon publication and are clearly identified as 'open access'.
University of Westminster Press
UWP is an open access publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals and books.

THE ANTHROPOSCENE OF WEATHER AND CLIMATE: Ethnographic Contributions to the Climate Change Debate by Edited by Paul Sillitoe
ISBN: 9781800732780

Publication Date: 2021

While it is widely acknowledged that climate change is among the greatest global challenges of our times, it has local implications too. This volume forefronts these local issues, giving anthropology a voice in this great debate, which is otherwise dominated by natural scientists and policy makers. It shows what an ethnographic focus can offer in furthering our understanding of the lived realities of climate debates. Contributors from communities around the world discuss local knowledge of, and responses to, environmental changes that need to feature in scientifically framed policies regarding mitigation and adaptation measures if they are to be effective.
Developing Educators for The Digital Age: A Framework for Capturing Knowledge in Action by Paul Breen
ISBN: 9781911534662

Publication Date: 2018

Developing Educators for the Digital Age is a book that provides a narrative account of teacher development geared towards the further usage of technologies (including iPads, MOOCs and whiteboards) in the classroom presented via the histories and observation of a diverse group of teachers engaged in the multiple dimensions of their profession.
AI for Everyone? Critical Perspectives by Pieter Verdegem (Editor)
ISBN: 9781914386169

Publication Date: 2021-09-20

This book brings together critical interrogations of what constitutes AI, its impact and its inequalities in order to offer an analysis of what it means for AI to deliver benefits for everyone. The book is structured in three parts: Part 1, AI: Humans vs. Machines, presents critical perspectives on human-machine dualism. Part 2, Discourses and Myths About AI, excavates metaphors and policies to ask normative questions about what is 'desirable' AI and what conditions make this possible. Part 3, AI Power and Inequalities, discusses how the implementation of AI creates important challenges that urgently need to be addressed. Bringing together scholars from diverse disciplinary backgrounds and regional contexts, this book offers a vital intervention on one of the most hyped concepts of our times.
The Journeys of a Taymiyyan Sufi by Arjan Post
ISBN: 9789004431294

Publication Date: 2020-08-27

The Journeys of a Taymiyyan Sufi explores the life and teachings of ʿImād al-Dīn Aḥmad al-Wāsiṭī (d. 711/1311), a little-known Ḥanbalī Sufi master from the circle of Ibn Taymiyya (d. 728/1328).
Politics and Community-Based Research by Kirsten Dörmann (Editor); Claire Bénit-Gbaffou (Editor); Sarah Charlton (Editor); Sophie Didier (Editor)
ISBN: 9781776143849

Publication Date: 2019-10-01

Politics and Community-Based Research: Perspectives from Yeoville Studio, Johannesburg provides a textured analysis of a contested urban space that will resonate with other contested urban spaces around the world and challenges researchers involved in such spaces to work in creative and politicised ways. This edited collection is built around the experiences of Yeoville Studio, a research initiative based at the School of Architecture and Planning at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg.
A Fossil History of Southern African Land Mammals. by D. Margaret Avery, Iziko Museums of South Africa
ISBN: 9781108647243

Publication Date: 2019

This reference provides comprehensive information on the taxonomy and distribution in time and space of all currently recognized southern African fossil mammals. Subjects: Earth and Environmental Sciences, Life Sciences, Palaeontology and Life History, Evolutionary Biology