Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media Studies: Databases

This guide is designed to direct you to the useful resources for Media Studies. We welcome any suggestion and recommendation to enhance this guide. Send your suggestion to any of the librarians in this page.

Tips for Finding Articles

Use online databases to find articles in journals, newspapers, and magazines (periodicals). You can search for periodical articles by the article author, title, or keyword by using databases in your subject area in http://www.diglib.um.edu.my/interaktif/

Choose the database best suited to your particular topic.

Ask at the reference desk if you need help figuring out which ones are best.

If the article full text is not linked from the citation in the database you are using, search for the title of the periodical in our Library Catalog http://pendeta.um.edu.my. This catalog lists the print, microform, and electronic versions of journals, magazines, and newspapers available in the library.

Recommended Databases

Taylor & Francis Online (2012-2015)

Description: Area Studies, Arts, Behavioral Sciences, Bioscience, Built Environment, Computer Science, Development Studies, Earth Sciences, Economic, Finance, Business & Industry, Education, Engineering & Technology, Environment & Agriculture, Environmental Studies & Management, Food Science * Technology, Geography, Humanities, Information Science, Language & Literature, Law, Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing & Allied Health, Museum & Heritage Studies, Physical Sciences, Politics & International Relations, Social Sciences, Social Work, Sports & Leisure, Travel & Tourism, Urban Studies

SAGE Journals

Description: SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. Includes more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 298 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection@EBSCOhost 

Description: Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Wiley Online Library (2012-2015) 

Description: Wiley InterScience now includes journal content formerly on Blackwell Synergy, providing access to more than 3 million articles across 1400 journals. Journals can be found by using Browse by Subject Area, Browse by Product Type, or Search by Publication Title.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) 

Description: This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

Project MUSE

Description: Project Muse currently offers full text online access to over 100 journals from numerous scholarly publishers in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JSTOR Archive 

Description: JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

Oxford Art Online

The OAO database hosts the Grove® Dictionary of Art, the Benezit® Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference works.