Library Guide: Geology: Related Databases

High Impact Factor Journals in Geology

Rank	Full Journal Title
1	Geology
2	Journal of Metamorphic Geology
3	Ore Geology Reviews
4	Newsletters on Stratigraphy
5	Lithosphere
6	Sedimentology
7	Journal of Geology
8	Sedimentary Geology
9	Permafrost and Periglacial Processes
10	New Zealand Journal of Geology and Geophysics
11	Geofluids
12	Cretaceous Research
13	Journal of Sedimentary Research
14	Andean Geology
15	International Geology Review
16	Journal of Iberian Geology
17	PALAIOS
18	Acta Petrologica Sinica
19	Facies
20	Geologica Acta

Recommended Databases

The following are recommended databases that can be used to search for information on Geology :

American Geophysical Union Journals This link opens in a new window
AGU publishes highly respected, peer-reviewed scientific journals, a member newspaper, and award-winning books. Geophysical Research Letters and Journal of Geophysical Research -- Atmospheres both ranked among the top 10 of the most highly cited research publications on climate change over the past decade.
Consists of 17 titles with fulltext coverage back from 1996 onwards.
Subject: Geology

AGU publishes highly respected, peer-reviewed scientific journals, a member newspaper, and award-winning books. Geophysical Research Letters and Journal of Geophysical Research -- Atmospheres both ranked among the top 10 of the most highly cited research publications on climate change over the past decade.
Consists of 17 titles with fulltext coverage back from 1996 onwards.
ScienceDirect® This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Elsevier published journal articles since 1995, selected journal backfiles and online books. Covers all subject areas.
Subject: Physical Sciences and Engineering; Life Sciences; Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanities
Coverage: 1995 - Present
Web | Active | Full-text

The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines, including Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Business & Management Science Chemistry, Clinical Medicine, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Previously called the Web of Knowledge. Provides access to including Web of Science Core Collection (covering engineering, science, health, social science, humanities, etc.), BIOSIS (biological & biomedical science) and Inspec (physics, computing, electrical & electronic engineering, etc.). Select 'All Databases’ to search multiple databases simultaneously or choose an individual database.
Subject: Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities
Coverage: 1980 to present
Web | Active | Bibliographic
Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines—that's 2,100 more journals than the print and CD-ROM versions of the SCI. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
In addition, the Science Citation Index Expanded Provides access to current information and retrospective data from 1900 to the present.; Averages 19,000 new records per week.; Includes approximately 423,000 new cited references per week.; As of January 1991, contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts for approximately 70% of the articles in the index.

Media

Source : Youtube (Fieldwork: Geology and Earth Sciences - University of Birmingham)