Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medicine: Medical Education Remote Teaching Resources

This guide is intended to assist students and researchers to find resources in Medicine

About this guide

This guide includes resources to support remote teaching and learning in medical education, including open-access resources and several online resources from the library collection.   

These resources will be updated from time to time.

Free resources

This free resource collection was built in response to the COVID-19 pandemic’s significant impact on the teaching and learning of health professionals. Designed by diverse educators, this working collection features clinical learning experiences, which can be readily used or easily adapted for specific, local settings, without the need for physical patient contact.

ActivEpi Web includes 15 chapters, each with interactive study questions, dataset files for computer analysis and homework exercises. Because epidemiology is a close partner with biostatistics, it includes basic statistic instruction such as the analysis of two-way data, stratified analysis, matched studies and analysis, and an introduction to mathematical modeling. 

Robust list of topics. Includes podcasts, images, & videos from the AMA.

Some AMA Ed HUB modules are free, some require AMA membership, others have a cost.

Clinical Topics: https://edhub.ama-assn.org/clinical-topics
Health Systems Science: https://edhub.ama-assn.org/health-systems-science/by-topic

The members of the American Academy of Dermatology have a long history of involvement in medical student education. This curriculum was created by a work group of experienced dermatology educators and is based on the best available evidence.

  • Anatomy Atlases

Body Interact is offering you a chance to experience a clinical scenario about COVID-19 with virtual patients, applying the most up to date management guidelines.

Explores how the human body develops from a single-cell fertilized egg to the complex set of organ systems seen in the newborn.

Includes video courses related to COVID-19 including information related to diagnosis and treatment.

Case history quizzes were originally published in Patient Management and New Ethicals Journal (1996 to 2003) and in New Zealand Doctor (2004-2009).

This interactive ECG tutorial represents an introduction to clinical electrocardiography.

A collection of interactive medical and surgical clinical case scenarios to put your diagnostic and management skills to the test. Each clinical case scenario allows you to work through history taking, investigations, diagnosis and management.

The Healio website is also a useful one to know, providing students with articles on a number of specialty areas including cardiology, sports medicine, orthopedics, hematology and infectious disease, just to name a few. It allows access to journals and books as well as information on upcoming professional meetings. Once doctors begin practice, this site is also a great one for continuing medical education credits (CME’s).

It is the intent of this dissection manual to provide a means to facilitate the learning of human anatomy. The creation of this dissection manual, and the computer software program with the collection of videodisc images which accompany it, were developed by a team of individuals who place high value on education.

Explore the human body like never before. We have comprehensive guides that explain your Skeletal System, Muscular System, Cardiovascular System, Digestive System, and more.

Tools and resources covering reproductive health topics. Learners can request a RHEcourse login for self-paced learning, which allows them to enroll in pre-made courses and complete them at their own pace.

Hand-drawn presentations, good for fundamentals.

This collection features peer-reviewed teaching resources that can be used for distance learning, including self-directed modules and learning activities that could be converted to virtual interactions. As always, the resources are free to download and free for adaptation to local settings.

MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.

Tools and resources covering reproductive health topics. Learners can request a RHEcourse login for self-paced learning, which allows them to enroll in pre-made courses and complete them at their own pace.

The Merck Manuals are comprised of a great series of research articles on medical conditions that give a thorough grounding in the physiology, etiology, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of a specific disease process.

  • Muscle Atlas

A selection of Videos in Clinical Medicine to assist medical professionals during the pandemic. The videos will be freely available only for the duration of the outbreak.

NPS MedicineWise Learning provides health professionals and students with a range of learning activities and resources. All our courses are available free of charge.

The site is extensive and includes freely accessible videos covering specialties like Trauma, Pediatrics, Nephrology, Endocrinology, and Infectious Disease and an Intern Content section with subjects such as certain diseases and conditions (renal failure, congestive heart failure), patient parameters (like electrolytes) and specific signs and symptoms (such as delirium, weakness or hemoptysis).

OpenSimulator is an open-source multi-platform, multi-user 3D application server. It can be used to create a virtual environment (or world) which can be accessed through a variety of clients, on multiple protocols.

The "Pediatric Neurologic Exam: A Neurodevelopmental Approach" uses over 145 video demonstrations and narrative descriptions in an online tutorial. It presents the neurological examination of the pediatric patient as couched within the context of neurodevelopmental milestones for Newborns, 3 month-olds, 6 month-olds, 12 month-olds, 18 month-olds, and 2-and-a-half year-olds.

  • Perinatal Nursing Care - The link provides learning modules and 3 Virtual Gaming Simulation (VGS) related to a perinatal nursing experience. The  VGS offers an interactive, experiential opportunity to apply knowledge and practice skills in a hospital setting.
  • PicMonics

The term “picmonics” is short for “pictorial mnemonics” and is an Arizona-based start-up company also founded by medical students with a solid group of illustrators, writers and medical reviewers. Picmonics was developed with a similar purpose as Online MedEd: to make the massive amounts of clinical information needed to practice medicine easier to manage. In this case, it uses pictures with a series of mnemonic devices to help students learn. It covers fundamental science courses like anatomy and physiology, biochemistry and microbiology as well as straight-up medical courses like pharmacology, pathology and epidemiology.

Tools and resources covering reproductive health topics. Learners can request a RHEcourse login for self-paced learning, which allows them to enroll in pre-made courses and complete them at their own pace.

The Virtual Interactive Case (VIC) System, for creating virtual patients using Adobe Flash. Our tool allows users to develop cases on their personal computers, then easily distribute them on the web or on CD.

SCCM's Critical Care for the Non-ICU Clinician provides online education to healthcare professionals who may benefit from critical care training.

Online library of Board Prep quizzes by faculty members of the National Family Medicine Board Review course (Source: MDEdge l Family Medicine)

The cases are examples of Interprofessional Education, Problem Based Learning, and Simulation cases in which appropriate sex and gender differences have been included. These cases serve as an example of how to thread sex and gender differences through a new or existing case.

  • The Bone Box

The WebPath® educational resource contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. For self-assessment and self-directed study, there are over 1300 examination items.

The Lancet's interactive Picture Quiz Gallery hosts a new picture quiz each month. Play the picture quiz to test your medical knowledge and diagnostic skills. Each quiz is a multi-choice challenge which give you the option to play more or read about the patient's presentation and diagnosis.

This simulation is an ideal method of introduction to disaster management for students.  It provides an experience to gain skills, and the ability to manage an emergency situation, without risk to the population or the students.

The University of Michigan Department of Family Medicine presents high-quality modules on a broad range of clinical topics that are now free and available to the public.

This project is a freeware Virtual Standardized Patient (VSP) community for medical students, residents, continuing medical education and medical educators. VSPs are virtual human avatars that you can converse with (through typing or speech), that talk back, tell a story and are coupled with a feedback system that allows you to improve your performance.

This portal provides healthcare students and professionals with an experiential learning opportunity for practising client care in a safe virtual environment. Here you can access a number of simulation experiences that will engage you in clinical decision making.

Simulated patient experience that includes coronavirus differential diagnosis, important diagnostic tests, management including infection disease precautions in the hospital, and home discharge protocols. (Source: Casenetwork)

  • Zygote Body

Drug Information